powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-06-26 - 1:21 p.m.

Thanks for the island

... it's like an episode of survivor. Last people on the island and the water's rising.

Literally, replies my one lead who's in the office today.


This is getting ridiculous. In the where's Theo's team rack-up:

People at funerals: 2
People out sick: 3
People on leave: 4
People with automative failures: 2
People out tending sick relatives: 1
People in training: 1
People flooded into their neighborhoods: at least 1.

Now I've got a big team, and we back each other up really well, but this is a bit beyond the contingency plans.

The bitch of it all is I've got surgery tomorrow and you can't drink 24 hours before local anethesia.


Friday night was not so much with the wild excitement. Roland took one look at me and, after I could remember what I'd eaten at any point that day, decided to feed me. Buoyed by the smell of meat on the grill, I decided to see what I could make with a bartender's guide and our liquor cabinets. The answer was a sidecar, which I liked enough I made doubles.

Asleep by 9:15. I vaguely remember talking to Alan on the phone just before that, and Roland petting me on the head with the look that say 'You're babbling, sweetie.'

Thirteen hours later ....

It's Saturday morning, groceries - tomatoes on sale home to make fresh red sauce. Sorting out Pennsic repairs, several hours of doing bills and finally, ribs with Blue, Pink and 'Lan.

Sunday, I started to plough through the work I'd brought home only to find my computer battery was dead and I didn't have a power supply. I looked at the pile of paperwork, struggling with my conscience, when in my head I hear Robert's voice say 'So that was a Freudian slip, huh?' Why Robert's voice? I guess because he's excellent at cutting through it.

Oh, Lord. Robert is now representing the better angels of my nature.
Let's not examine that too closely.

So I did what I could logging on from the home computer to review documents, then surrendered to the many Pennsic projects that have become more urgent as I realize impending vacation and business trips may eat most of July working diligently until 8ish when Roland returned from watching K hip-hop about in a pink hoodie and we settled to our planned movie.

(Was the tutu pink, too? Was there a tutu?)


Now, it's Monday. An insane and wet Monday. Outside the water is rising.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!