powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-06-23 - 11:48 a.m.

TGIF

Social customs are odd.
As I was driving to work today, at the speed limit along a major road, a guy suddenly jaywalked out into the middle of the street against the light. That's right - not in a crosswalk, not while traffic was halted, not while he had the right of way.

So, I used the horn. You know, the thing you use to signal possible collisons?

HIs response? Rather than running for his life or looking ashamed for breaking the rules of law and common sense was to stop dead in the road, put both hands on his hips and proceed to cuss me out.

Road rage kind of moment from a pedestrian?

He's just lucky I don't have a Darwin fish on my bumper.


No. (Sigh.) I don't have the next block of cheese. Since it was no one's job to organize this, now it's a firedrill looking for the missing ingredients. (Is it in this stockroom? Is it on someone's desk? We sent that back? - Whoops. Oh, no - no one ordered it? Is it under someone's desk?)

(If you think I'm kidding about the under someone's desk part, I'm not. It'd be convenient if Fedex would be more descriptive on their labels.)

One of my team squeaked at me today. Yes, like a mouse. The cheese analogy has, officially, gone too far.

Oh, and it's summer. Which means people are out for a variety of personal reasons thus not available to resolve problems. Those that are here are cranky cause they're scrambling to cover and want to flee the building themselves. Meanwhile, progress halts.

Thank God it's Friday.

This weekend is (I hope) Pennsic projects. More likely it will be some of Theo working. You see, I'm behind because I've not been working in the evenings after supper.

Only Lisette will understand when I say this will only get worse.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!