powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-06-14 - 7:03 p.m.

Dumb conversations I've had this week

Let's blow the illusions rocket scientists are the sharpest tools in the shed.

Dumb conversations I've had this week.


Condescendingly ...so I *signed* it so you can have your cheese, but you must go back and add this thing.

Theo. [blink] Thing is already in document. I verified it myself

No it's not.

[Yes-it-is. No-it's-not circular conversation for three minutes ...]

Theo ... it's right here. shoving computer in face.

Oh. That's in the third from last column. We all agreed all the notes were in the last column. I only look at the last column. You need to move it there.

I'm told by bystanders that this is the point I lost my cookies. ... and you know what, sometimes you just have to look at three columns to get the information. That's what they pay us for - to be able to assemble information and draw conclusions ...


Phone message from beancounter manager guy. Theo, I just need to verify you've done [... ten item checklist read into my phonemail...] I know that's a lot, but call me back and I'll explain.

Moron. You're reading the standard product checklist.

I call back and say Yes.

Long pause. Yes, to all of it?!?! Incredility.

Yes. It's all posted on the website, filed with CM and I give you a chart every month listing all the status of all these items.

You do?

Yes. It's pretty and colored coded. Handed to you on the 18th of each month.

Oh. Sound of paper shuffling. Why didn't you email it to me?

Because I've asked every month why we don't have a central place to post the ecopy of our status and no one ever has an answer. They just want hardcopy.

Pause. Could you email it to me now?


Theo, very patiently at 6 pm during the search-for-the-cheese So, let me get this straight. My guy posted the information on the controlled website as is standard procedure. Posted two months ago, printed it out and read it to you yesterday, but you now still want the information again.

So you would like me to pull it from there and email it around the system so it can be pasted in a spreadsheet we can email around for approval in an uncontrolled fashion rather than using the controlled review system? I don't think I make myself popular when I state such thing factually.

Yes.

Deep breath. Theo thinks about truth and justice. Thinks about how stupid this is. Listens to the echoes in her head of her team asking "If we have to work around the system isn't the system broken?"

Thinks about how much more we need the cheese than we need justice. Fine. I'll email it.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!