powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-06-05 - 8:59 a.m.


A tale of two weekends

Why, I must ask, why did we have such fabulous weather this weekend and such high temps for Sapphire Joust last? Oh, right, cause it's Joust and the weather must always be difficult. At least there was no flooding.

Now, I could tell the adventures of Theo linearly, but that's so not me. So for the three people who still read my diary when everyone else has trotted off to livejournal let's run a few highlights of Joust from last weekend...

... Thjora kicked off Saturday morning by turning up with mimosas that made the non-fighters very happy. Isobel, angelic with her poppy bright halo, brought a fantastic spread to go with.

Roland has a blast on the field, and I actually got to watch most of his fights. Believe it or not (and Mel the Taller won�t) there are a very few sports I like watching � SCA fighting and high school wrestling being two of them.

My good deed for the weekend was selling off our camp teenagers to Sunniva and Turgeis forming the symbotic relationship of teen babysitter wanting money and parent wanting time for Pennsic activities.

Of course, I wasn't done toying with other people's children because there were small babies to play with. I've decided to call Cuan's child 'Dangerbaby' because the more you throw him about in risky ways the happier he is. If you want more proof of genetics at work let's look at Balynar's Wren who is just the epitome of a chillin' little charmer. Now, John Richard, you can see him thinking just like his daddy but his need for constant motion is totally his mom. Tommy is so popular it�s hard to get time with him with his big eyes and Giuliana�s quiet and mischevious air.

Melisent wearing Bryce pants. And not on her head. And joining me as an owner of a Herring, the only award which makes Nia jealous. (We are *not* making up a Herring war cry.)

Genevieve, mistress of hair. I almost didn't want to take it down Sunday to wash it. Almost.

My broken angel is standing straight in her halo again thanks to Leofwynne's stained glass skills.

The thing you only get at camping events: late nights chatting with friends.

And CT represent! I swear, give me a flag and I am totally bought like Eddie Izzard�s British Empire and India. I'm such an easy sell for heraldic display.

Bardic at Hotel de Byram. Though I may not forgive Livia for requesting 'Hannah the Henna'ed Historian.'

I turned around and there was Kane's armor. I still have trouble talking about that. Odd. The first time I met my Gen was at his wake.

Bryce's Pelican. How beautiful an ending to court, and how perfect to finally have him with our order.)

Now there were a few downers.
The heat. What happened to the dulcet springtime?

And my rant: I have an SCA name. Use it. I'm glad I know you in the real world, I cherish the fact our friendships going beyond the SCA, but at events you need to call me some derivative of Theodora. [Poor Nikulai, the 14th person to slip up, who got his head bitten off.]


Then another whirlwind week at work starting with a meeting with my boss's boss first thing. Blah, blah, blah, busy. Blah, blah, blah, issues. Yadda, yadda.

Either I'm getting better at this job or I'm just getting to tired to get ramped up about it. I'm going with getting better.


Saturday Alan let Bryce and I totally take over the Spacebar and rig it up for music editing. Bryce and I curled up in the Comfy Recliners of Doom(tm) and sorted through his old music masters. The first song we edited was 'The Lodge', which took over an hour to get right.

It is true that all old tapes left in the car too long become Queen tapes. Apparently, all digital tracks want to become 'The Lodge' song. Due to an idiosyncrasy in the editing software, everything got titled 'Lodge.' After six hours, that'll send you screaming. How wise of Alan to have a bar in the room.

We gorged on steak and crab, then Alan fed Bryce martinis which made him most cooperative about whatever else we did to his music.

If you want his anniversary album, catch Bryce cause he's working on production. Now, the bootleg basement material well it could motivate all the Chequey alums to all learn how to operate .mp3 players. What is Martin's email address anyway?


Finally, a link discovered when Bryce had me surfing for the trunkmonkey videos, I give you bunnies.


Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!