powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-05-15 - 5:30 p.m.

In the garden

My last project - which was much, much, much worse than this one if you can believe that - I worked with a fabulous engineer who had the nickname Owl.

That project was so bad, I once sent in a request for to fund a priest or voodum to exorcise the demons from our constantly problematic hardware. Really.

Owl was our anchorman. When the insanity was at it's worse, he would look up at the ceiling and say, I'm in the garden. It's anice garden. With a hammock. And a stream. A breeze.

In fact, Owl would occasionally do this in the middle of mettings, testing, and all other disasters until the out-loud visualization exercise became a calming team ritual, the forerunner of "Find a happy place! Find a happy place!"

You know those moment where you're standing outside yourself? By Friday of last week, I sat in a chaotic and argumentative meeting and realized we were all loosing our objectivity and reacting purely emotionally from exhaustion and frustration.

Good thing I spent my weekend in a real garden because, man, my teammates are starting to crack. I've spent most of today speaking calmly to people more technically adept at our problem than me. By 3 pm, one of them drug in my office so pitiful that I fed him oranges and caffeine.

Perhaps tomorrow I will teach them the garden trick.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!