powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-03-14 - 1:06 p.m.


Randomly shuffling

Despite my postings of woe, work is down from crisis mode and in the �but-we-must-accomplish-everything-at-the-same-time-or-we-won�t-make-schedule� 10-11 hour days. Sadly, this means I�m down from the 70-80 hour weeks so things are going the right direction.


Poor Roland wandered in last night and collapsed on the couch. He did not pass go, pet the cat, or kiss the wife. He just fell over. I fear that he�s picked up the stomach-bug-of-doom I had two weeks ago.

This makes it tough to go visit his sister, who�ll be having her spleen out later today.


What�d�cha do this weekend, Theo?
I inadvertently fed about 20 people.
That seems to happen to you a lot.

Saturday morning, Kymber says � and Cuan really wanted pasta for dinner, so I thought I�d pick up a frozen something at Costco.
Or, I say, we could just make pasta while Benjamin is napping.
Long pause, then finally K: I�m blinking at you and just realized that you couldn�t see it.

So, I packed up a few things from the kitchen, picked up the lovely Arielle, then went to St. Paddy�s Day just long enough to meet the Tommy-boy and pick up Padraigin and Benjamin who needed a nap.

I regretted, briefly, not making what was a beautiful event on a gorgeous day. But, I needed the sleep desperately. And for Roland, who is still limping on the broken toes, it would be (and I quote) like taking a lactose intolerant child to an ice cream parlor. And y�all think I�m the funny one.

K and Roland valiantly went for supplies and I made pasta. Lots of fettucine. And bologonase all the while Kymber mocked me roundly for bringing my own knife, cookbook and pepper.

I own it. I deserve the mocking. I�m such a cooking snob. But at least I bring my own toys.


Meanwhile, I�m enjoying a rare stretch of several hours in the office, during which I�ve put put my iPod on random across the entire library, resulting in the following mix:

Johnny Cash: "I Walk the Line"
Spam-a-Lot : "Where are you?"
Martin Page: "House of Stone and Light"
Sinead O'Connor: "Empire"
Martin Hamlisch: "In Questa Reggia"
Heather Alexander: "Oathbreakers"
Creedence Clearwater Revival: "Run Through the Jungle"
Sting: "Seven Days"
Vonda Shepard: "Sail on By"
Brahms: "Concerto in D major, op. 77"
Johnny Lang: "Matchbox"
Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields "Pelleas et Melisande, Op 80, Sicilienne"
Superchick: "Stand Up"
Les Misearables: "Look Down"
Christopher Franke: "Babylon 5: Main Title 2nd Season"
Billy Joel: "Shameless"
BNL: "When I Fall"
Queen: "Body Language"
Garth Brooks: "Everytime that it Rains"
Bruce Springsteen: "Born in the USA"
Bryce de Byram: "Henry Martin"
Indigo Girls: "Don't Give That Girl A Gun"
Andrew Lloyd Webber: "Think of Me"
Yo-Yo Ma: "Suite No. 2 in D Minor"
Rasputina: "Transylvania Concubine"
Fleetwood Mac: "Landslide"
Alan Menken: "Belle"
Bon Jovi: "Wanted Dead or Alive"
Kenny Chesney: "I Lost It"
Elvis Presley: "I Got A Woman"
Hepburn: "I Quit"
Chieftans: "Chase Around the Windmill"
Whistle Down the Wind: "Off Ramp Exit To Paradise"
Clannad: "A Bridge" [Doesn't all Clannad sound the same?]
Pointer Sisters: "Goldmine"
Cherry Poppin' Daddies: "Mister White Keys"
Da Vinci's Notebook: "Theme from the Mickey Mouse Club" [That was jarring.]
Simon and Garfunkel: "Homeward Bound"
Sha-Na-Na: "Born to Hand Jive" [Writing this out, the title seems lascivious]
Lost Cause: "Lavender's Blue"

Argh. Now Lavender's Blue is stuck in my head. I will sing this under my breath the rest of the week.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!