powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-12-14 - 11:41 p.m.

I'm an engineer, not a plumber

It's not a good day when you impress a plumber.

Yeah, we had the kitchen sink back up Sunday night in the midst of dinner. Eh. So the dishes got rinsed and sat until today.

We disassembled the sink a couple times and discovered that, amongst our many and diverse talents, snaking a pipe isn't one of them.

Of course we tried the Liquid Plumber route first. What, are we crazy?

28' of professional motorized snakey goodness and a really amazed plumber later, and I can again run water down the kitchen sink without fear. I admit to running water aimlessly just to watch it drain - but all the TV ads about conservation and how many of the world's population go without clean water made me knock off the waste.


In other domestic disasters, I'll mention that dawn dishwashing liquid is the same color as the jet-dry rinse stuff.

Y'all should read labels carefully.

Ah, well. At least the kitchen floor is really, really clean now.


And hooray for Narnia skip day Friday! I corrupted many other people; Genevieve made snow cream; and we all wound up with Thai food after.

And, sorry to disagree with Giuliana, but I loved the witch. Thought the movie was pretty much perfect. Oh, of course we dissected itty-bits that were wrong - like the wardrobe door and Tumunus's tail - but the beavers.

May I just say, cause K said it first, the beavers are Clare and Eldred.


Saturday, we puttered in the do-many-neglected-and-little-chores kind of way. I could tell you about it but it's fairly dull stuff. Now, if I was Jerry Seinfeld, my weekend chores would run for multiple, prime time seasons.


That is not a little tree! Our five foot Christmas tree apparently doesn't fit Arielle definition of small.

Halls decked. Baking and stewing and merry cookie making on Sunday. Rounded up lively company to eat the stew. Discovered I should never give Val a beastiary. Discovered I should never give any of my friends a medieval beastiary. They can corrupt anything.


A good weekend, followed by a shitty start to an already too long week. Ah, work drama. Sigh. I could punch people in the nose with a sock puppet.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!