powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-12-09 - 11:38 a.m.

Let�s keep the �Lo� in Christmas

Today�s topic is Kevin�s fault, but I�ll get to that in a minute.


First, a survey question for the g-book about bacon. As I have this cold winter morning off, I made myself country breakfast � eggs over easy, centers runny of course, with bacon. Now, I come from a family of old-fashioned, cast-iron cooking folk. When I married the cute cityboy, I discovered the microwave is his preferred method of bacon prep. Now, don�t get me wrong, microwave bacon is nice, but bacon tastes best, fried up on medium-medium high heat; drain the grease often so the meat stays more directly on the pan giving you that tiny hint of charcoal on the crisp and perfect edges.

Ummm. That�s bacon worth cleaning the grease off the cooktop for. But Roland still sticks with the microwave.

How do y�all cook your bacon?


Tis the Christmas card season. I love getting cards. Kev & Jake�s arrived this week, with a footnote in the corner saying Luke: 2:9-14. Being a geek, I said to Roland I think that�s the annunciation, but let me check.

I do what everyone does in the 21st century. I type �desired subject�.com into the box of knowledge and wind up on Bible.com which produces the familiar King James version:

9And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.
10And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.
11For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.
12And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger.
13And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying,
14Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.

Ah, but here�s where my evening takes an odd turn. In the corner of the webpage is a drop-down menu allowing you to switch between translations, which I foolishly try.

Roland jumps when, I shriek. snugly strips of cloth? �You will find a baby lying in a manger, wrapped snugly in strips of cloth"?! [New Living Translation = NLT] Well, there�s a dignity and pomp. Snugly strips of cloth.

Roland stares at me.

And listen to this: �"I bring you good news of great joy for everyone!� [NLT]or �o! soothly I evangelize to you a great joy� [Wycliffe New Testament=WNT] cause that just so doesn�t grab you compared to �good tidings of great joy�.

Roland, attempting to imitate Kevin�s announcer voice I shall evangelize to you!

And check these description variants: �You will find the babe wrapped in strips of cloth?� [New International Reader�s Version=NRV] �And this is a token to you; ye shall find a young child wrapped in `clothes, and laid in a feed-trough [and put in a cratch].� [WNT again] A feedtrough? Look, I know that�s what a manager is, but honestly let�s expand people�s vocabulary and keep the better rhetoric.

And what�s this bit about �on earth peace to men on whom his favor rests�? [New Inernational Version=NIV] �peace among men with whom He is pleased? [New American Standard Bible = NASB] I�m pretty sure the rest of the New Testament points out God�s there for everybody, whether he�s currently pleased with you or not.

Roland, who�s still using his nice tenor to try to make any of this sound impressive exclaims, with a hallelujah rhythm, laid in a feed-trough!

Stop it. You sound like a Southern Baptist at a revival and you�re bad at it.

I though I was doing Evanglical.

You sound bad as that, too.

Our exploration of disturbing translations went on long enough that I called Kevin & Jake to thank them for their card and spread the joy. Jake, poor soul, answered the phone. And, this is how you know she�s going to be a great mom. She said, patiently and seriously, but with a just a hint of laughter in her voice Well, okay then. over and over.

I blame Kevin, cause it�s never Jake�s fault.


Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!