powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-11-22 - 2:02 p.m.

Think Pink!

Thank God Pink Leader is fairly oblivious when focused. I thought the salon calling a week before to confirm the manicure appointment would tip her off. Nope, Alan managed to convince her he was sweet but silly. Surely, Blue Leader�s random appearance on Saturday would be a clue. Nope, the pinkness of the shoes staved off that.

Are you aware, said Arielle�s voice on the phone that Genevieve is parked in your driveway?

Holy crap! Her party food is everywhere � and the cake�s on the counter.

And, honestly, I thought Gen walking straight into Val carrying his chef knives into my house Friday morning would really be the end of all subterfuge. Nope, Pink Leader was focused on grabbing fuel from my woodpile to tide her through the furnace outage. Val helped her load wood, told her some lie about me helping him re-edge knives, while I ran around the house hiding food everywhere just in case she came in.

But, nope, Pink Leader was oblivious � though Roland and Alan are *still* in trouble for both of them knowing but neither of them warning me that Gen was headed over to my house.

Big sigh of relief after Gen�s departure, then Val and I got down to cooking.

I love being outclassed in the kitchen. It doesn�t happen often, and it means I learn cool things like the fastest way to skewer. I love working with someone that appreciates all my spices are in A-R alphabetical order, and doesn�t mock me. (Versus Pink leader who has systematically written �chi-chi-chi� on all my jars of nutmeg.)

Let me tell you a secret about cooks. We hate to shop. All those cute shows with Bobby Flay or whoever going through the market � fiction. We just want our pantry stocked and the gear washed up behind us. So, big thanks to Roland for being part of the shopping crew, finding the elusive crawfish tails and washing up the last two sinks of dishes for us.

Now for the story of the great butter flood of �05 and the secret identity of butter-boy, you�ll have to catch me in person.

So, no updates in the past few weeks, cause most of the funny had to do with sneaking around Genevieve. While I was juggling the food prep with suggestions from Val, Alan was in charge of sneaking and alcohol. You might ask how this different from Alan�s normal existence but - the huge difference was the pinkness factor. Yes, Anne, imagine conversations with Alan debating the merits of various pink themed drinks.


Pink Squirrel has left the nest was the message Alan left on our machine Saturday afternoon, indicating Mel, Roland and I were clear to come over the wrangle the pinkness and food into place prior to party time.

I was very sad the Bera could not make it. When Alan moved the dining room table, there was no one available to Zulu-dance around the chandelier.

By the time Blue Leader returned with the birthday gal, we had our feet up, lobster bisque warming on the stove and I was drinking a Pink Squirrel; I liked it enough that Alan made me a quadruple � which Val promptly dubbed a Pink Woodchuck - so I�d stop bothering him for refills.

Fabulous partydom ensued till I think I finally wandered home sometime after 1 am. What a great excuse to get together with people we don�t see often enough.

And, happy (actual) birthday Pink Leader!

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!