powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-10-16 - 7:49 p.m.

As Theo�s office spins

Can we come bother you for a bit?

I sigh, looking at the design I was staying late Thursday to finish and wonder why I answered the phone. Is this going to be like the time you found out the entire design was unstable two days before our critical design review?

Pause. No. No, this is going to be much, much worse.

They weren�t kidding.

Forty minutes later I was leaving messages that went � and, so, while I sound very calm, I�m fairly panicked. Give me a call tomorrow so we can start fixing this.

Then, I go home and drink for a bit.


Friday morning, my 9 am meeting turns up and I explain � so, a bunch of people are going to turn up any minute with their tails on fire. Meanwhile, we should work on the review stuff that�s due in a few hours.

Okay, says the designer gamely.

Twenty minutes later, TK turns up which is impressive since he was in Florida twelve hours before. Twenty minutes after that, the Boy bursts through the door. Double doors, hard slam, simultaneously bang into both walls.

Hmmmm. says my designer, Is it always like this around here?

I apologize profusely for repeated interruptions, herd the gang off to start working the problem.

Finally, I�m back � cause they can start without me - and we get to work on the review material that�s due, oh, now.

The phone rings. Now, I know better than to answer the phone. Look where it got me the night before. But, I have left messages for various teammates, and it�s probably them.

Nope, it�s one of my analysts.

� wait a minute. Are you in labor?

Yes. She pants through another contraction then gives me the telecom number so I can handle her 11 am meeting. I ask to speak to her husband, but she�s says he�s laughing at her.

Meanwhile, my poor designer, who turned up at 9 am for that meeting, watches me put my head down and the desk and says This is like a soap opera.

Yes, yes it is. And, I depart for the third time to tell the gang who simply collapse in the floor.

My 9 am and I finish the review material, I run a a telecom I�m completely unprepared for, while TK peels Boy of the ceiling. By the time I put up a convincing chatter about accelerometers and harmonics, my 1 pm meeting turns up to work on the review for the week after next along with the team members who called me Thursday night. I look at them. You remember me saying yesterday afternoon that we should bring beer in on Friday?

Then, we spend the entire afternoon with globe, markers and legoes building models to prove we have a problem.


I stumble home fairly dizzy and spent most of Friday and Saturday watching Battlestar Galatica. Sometime on Sunday, I finally feel despun enough to putter with planting mums and repotting herbs.

Hopefully, next week will be calmer. If not, I�m just going to leave them to their fate as Roland and I are spending the weekend in Chicago for the Arms and Armor conference.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!