powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-10-08 - 9:11 a.m.

The rain in Spain

� If you can�t mind your manners, I�d suggest you stick to two subjects, Henry: the weather and everyone else�s health. - Mrs. Higgins. My Fair Lady


The weather.
A six weeks of drought and crunchy grass.
A week of perfect fall weather, barely seventy and crystal blue skies.
Then, rain. Rain. 36 hours and counting of rain. Rain, just in time to swamp Kingdom Crusades.

Yep, the Saturday plans are ruined. I was looking forward to a day of autumn sunshine and socialization, but � thank you Tropical Storm Tammy - no. Chances are the fighting will be cancelled and the grounds will be a swamp. I already did that this year � at Spring Coronation � so we are bailing.

Luckily, I think alternate entertainment will offer itself this afternoon.


Everyone else�s health.

How is everyone else? Roland�s peppy, but I haven�t seen much of other people. I keep missing chances for socialization and trying to invite other people over only makes me notice everyone else already has plans. My cell�s been on the fritz, but since I get so few calls, I haven�t missed it.

So I only have my news, so I shall let Mrs. Higgins call me rude, and tell you all about me.

Work is fraught with too many urgent meetings to leave any time for actually producing anything.

I made twinkies this week, to pay off a debt incurred to one of my colleagues. Her work depends on everyone else making up our minds, so we always screw her over by waiting too late to decide, then rethinking it just as she starts. These have come to be called �twinkie mistakes� as in I�m so sorry. I�ll spot you a twinkie from the vending machine?

Trust me, I owed. Apparently, I�m the only one who�s ever delivered, showing up to urgent meeting 1 of 4 this week with a box full of home-made twinkies.

Making twinkies look and taste like the beloved snack cake is harder than you think. I had to dispose of experiments one and two with the Office Linebacker before I created something worth delivering.

Cream is not the right thing for the filling. I�m getting closer with nearly icing royale cut heavily with evaporated milk. And, of all things, flavored with a touch of lemon. Cake cannot be yellow cake � too delicate � you need a sponge cake. But angel food is the wrong color and not moist enough. My latest hybrid is pound cake with whipped egg whites folded in.

I can�t quite get the colors right, but Roland says it�s cause I�m using natural food products; or These taste like twinkies, only good.

Next week it�s cookies for the guys currently tracking some parts across three continents and four currency conversions for me. Maybe I�ll throw in a pan of brownies for the team, just for fun.

(Yes, Fin, you can still come work for me.)


Othello was lovely, as Elsworthy said. Fine companions and fabulous food before the play, though I need to speak with Gen about this spreading of the pink as K and Alesia both turned up in a baby shade. It�s not natural. I suppose, as long as AoD doesn�t go pink and fluffy on me, my world will survive.

Iago knocked me back in my seat, which is saying something for the actor that lead the MacBeth production to something rather humdrum. Avery Brooks was very good, but his interpretation was much more an inward fall and outward physical collapse, a loss of control and reason rather than a descent into madness, lashing out in violence.

I think Patrick Stewart has ruined me for all other Othello�s ever. I can still feel Patrick�s voice echoing across the stage proclaiming for I am black!


In movie reviews, I must say, go see Serenity. Go twice; I did. Joss is a genius � they should never have cancelled Firefly.

Also, from the Netflix list, I�m giving Torch Song Trilogy and Phantom of the Opera two thumbs way up. I�ll be buying my own copy of Phantom. After listening to the original Broadway cast and the movie soundtrack, I�m coming to prefer the movie. Characters, score and song are completely developed; Raoul is a man rather than a contrast of perfect to the Phantom�s ugliness; and the Phantom is simultaneous mesmerizing and repulsive.


And, a footnote to those who followed to so far posted adventures of engineers in Italy or �Theo goes to Florence, May�05,� my Do you have a map? boy admitted his folly, thanks to Rachel Ray. The restaurant I tried to talk them into, the one we wound up next to but we�d cancelled our reservations cause no one wanted to wait that late to eat? Picked as Rachel Ray�s absolute best place to eat in Florence. Yay for the Food Network.

At least I was right about something once this week.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!