powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-09-08 - 2:09 p.m.

Thoughts are private.

There�s a fascinating series of books called �A History of Private Life,� which reviews how man�s need for and expectation of privacy has evolved from the days of communal houses - go right ahead and have sex under your blanket while everyone watches - to today, where we don�t even like hearing that sort of thing through the walls be they canvas or drywall.

The aftermath of Pennsic always makes me slightly antisocial. Most of it is spending two weeks with 10,000+ people. Some of it is recovery � the overful desk at work as well as the personal HGTV type projects that were neglected for SCA deadlines.

I think I�m almost back on the center of the balance beam again.


I was reading Bryce�s diary today and smiling. Yes, a blog isn�t private.

Here�s a disclaimer I�ve been meaning to post for sometime.

It amazes, and occasionally freaks me out, how many people comment �Oh, Theo, I read your diary.� This is even stranger to me when people I don�t know at all read my posts. I�m not wired that way � I read blogs of people I know to keep up on their news.

If you don�t know me in realspace, I should also say this � you won�t get to know me well from this blog. People walk away with the impression of a self-contained, overly educated woman. That�s true. It�s also a public mask for a girl that�s exactly centered between introvert and extrovert.

I don�t rant here not about anything deeply personal. Never will. My politics, my pains, and most of my controversial opinions, I talk over with my husband and friends in realspace. I enjoy it more that way.

This diary is like an occasional newpaper column, with vignettes of my life, written for my own amusement and that of friends. That anyone reads it amazes me.

I love having even a virtual interaction with my friends that I see too infrequently because of conflicting schedules, the barrier of distance, traffic and time.

But, if you want to know what Theo�s really thinking, call. I�m much more amusing in person.


Bizarro � Nope, not reading House of M. Don�t even know what that is. Haven�t been to the comic shop in nearly two months, so I�m behind on everything.

Kevin & Lucia � I refuse to comment further on shoes and sex.

Finally, for the strange people who read the garden babble �

Mel the shorter, yes I will be happy to help with the garden come spring.

Anne � the hyssop didn�t specify travel friendly. That�s not something people normally put on plant information, I suppose because they anticipate them being planted and staying still.

Thjora � I really should ask Corbie about deer proof greenery. I am not putting in rhodendron or laurel, but it�d be nice to replace my hostas with something the Bambi brigade would leave be.

Gen � I love you too. (Stupid song now stuck in head. Again. Evil Bubbles.)

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!