powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-07-21 - 11:26 p.m.

Three ironical things

One of my twenty-something engineers skipped around celebrating that he had sold his motorcycle in a reverse mid-life crisis.

Today, our lead science person called me and asked for a meeting � because it isn�t all about the science.

Wow, I am so going to quote you on that.

It was a trick, an evil trick for his summer student to interview me. The summer project? Add profiles of different engineers to the project website. Pictures weren�t mentioned until partway through the who-was-your-role-model questions.

What was your first job?

What should I say? Girl scout camp counselor? Horse trainer? Field hand? Part-time graveyard help? I go with my first paid job and hand her the old name tag from my shelf.

Toy Room Maintenance?

I worked in a pediatrician�s office as an after-school girl Friday, filing, receptionist, and phones. But, my final duty of the day was to return all the toys to their proper place. The nurses had the nametag made for me.

By the end of the interview, it occurred to me my current job is not that different from my first one.


Happily, my week is over, having been shortened to just two days by me having the rattling hack. Tomorrow, we travel south and west - much further than the plain of Assessment Battles - to watch our nephew turn five.

Pray for Roland, cause I have the urge to listen to Spamelot soundtrack on our travels, for which I can honestly blame Byram.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!