powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-06-23 - 9:34 a.m.

Acrimony. It's not just a crossword puzzle answer.

Imagine, if you will, trying to negotiate a diagreement between the following people:

Damien, engineering-boss-guy
Colin, engineering-boss-guy's sidekick
Angry-Christian, engineering-boss-guy's other sidekick.

Logan, project-guy
Cuan & Theodora, project-guy's-bosses

Being used as a football - me and my teammate, who fits the Loric archtype.

All without the cover fire from my boss, who's been out of the office. But he came in yesterday.


Me: Boss, what is the policy on mood-altering drugs at work?

Boss: Caffeine is legal in all fifty states, and we allow beer after 3pm.

Me: Are you positive I can't get reassigned to something involving calculus?

Boss: Oh, why would you want to do that?

Me: I hate programmatic math. I would love to spend the day with Matlab. Paulse Okay, I'm going now; I'll update you when the curtain lifts on the next act.

But, I mumble as I walk away: I'm transferring back to analysis.

Boss, from a distance: Noooo!


I don't have time for this crap.

Let me explain Theo and emergencies. I'm very good at emergencies. I'm excellent under stress. I'm fine at handling car accidents, being lost in the woods, computer crashes, tumbling spacecraft, fires in the cleanroom, out of control horses, rain, snow, sleet and hail.

What drives me batshit crazy is when people create drama by saying 'Whoops, I totally forgot something and, gosh, I guess that screws you over. Good luck with that.'


I'm suddenly reminded one of my peer quotes, said two days before my elevation when I decided to help Havorc with manual labor rather than joining the several high ranking people watching and commenting.

If they ever make me a peer, I hope I'm never too good to get down in a ditch with my King.

If you're going to create the drama, get down in the dirt with the rest of us and solve it.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!