powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-03-13 - 10:13 a.m.

Career and Careen

If I ever become an eco-terrorist, I�m going after the industry that supplies the Chinese takeout containers.

I admit, I hated chemistry. Ask Lis. You can also ask Lis why I no longer make garlic bread, but that�s a different story.

These things are not my idiom. So I haven�t a freakin� clue what makes the difference between an acceptable 1 and 2 appearing in the friendly recycling symbol etched discretely on the bottom of all modern plastic products, and the forbidden higher numbers of the recycling scale.

All the Chinese soup containers and snap-together takeout bins that bring me the Crispy Beef and Szechuan String beans are not recyclable. Like most of America, I use them as free tupperware. Pile of them stacked and crammed into the cupboard waiting to store the homecooked meals I practically never have time to make and lunches I almost never pack.

So, not only are these things piling up in our landfills, they are taking up the cupboard space. My cupboard space. As a girl whose only true browse-and-squeal shopping pleasure is the Container Store, this makes me twitchy.

Pray for Roland, cause I feel I�m going to reorganize our kitchen again.


A comm. engineer, a security engineer, and a systems engineer decide to rearrange furniture. (No rabbis were involved in the making of this joke.)

Roland: I just need to more these boxes out of the way?

Kyna: Yes, we can put them there, then see if they�ll fit in that other corner later.

Theo: Wait. Why are we rearranging things twice? If we just move things in a different order, we don�t have to stack and restack.

Roland shrugs, for he is a comm. engineer that just wants to move his packets. In his world, data moves so fast, number of stops doesn�t really matter.

Theo: I know I�m a Systems engineer and all about efficiency in process, but why don�t we just�

Kyna, with an impish grin: Cause I�m a security engineer, and more hoops are good?

We are, after all, what our chosen lives have made us.


Dinner and movies with K led to us getting put to work. Or, K might have just decided after I made her watch Princess of Thieves (15 year old Keira Knightly as Robin Hood�s daughter trying to prove she�s can keep up with her legendary father) that any other group activity would be safer.

The movie was MST3K-worthy, so I have to yield this point.
But, we did move the boxes only once.


Think about this: An alternate definition to �career� is �to careen�, �to rush at headlong or carelessly.�


Eco-terrorism or home organizer might be nice career changes after last week at work. You know, my first week back from sick leave. Should be taking it at a slow pace. Right.

First, another big review is coming. Much material to prepare and activities to support for big review. This should be our priority, but �

Second, external forces are pissing off my team, and I�ve been unable to protect them. Although we have no time to deal with this touchy-feel stuff, we are doing it anyway because it�s killing us on making progress. Scrutiny and objective discussions has made me realize that the problem is, I�m better at my job than a few key people above me. No wonder they frustrate me.

Third, I�m behind because I�ve been out of the office for three weeks (1 travel, 2 sick). I�m drowning in day-to-day items which means I�m not accomplishing the things my team needs done.

But, being sick did me good. Maybe it was the round of steroids, maybe it was finally letting my body rest, but I am in the mood to kick a little ass. I�ve been playing too nice for six months, letting a lot of crap just roll off me, because progress was more important to me than justice.

Why *do* I put up with this? I�ve been thinking about it a lot lately, and my best answer is because my favorite movie is El Cid. In Act III, the Cid gives the crown of Valencia to an unworthy king who has reviled and exiled him, because the Cid refuses to compromise his honor and his oath.

Of course, back in Act I, the Cid kills the father of the women he loves because there is no other way to avenge an insult to his honor. I think, it�s time to remind everyone that, even if I�ve chosen to avoid them lately, I can hold my own in a room clearing fight.


Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!