powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-03-09 - 7:46 p.m.

Trust fall

Have you ever participated in that team building exercise called a �trust fall�?

Stand on the edge of a table, your back towards your teammates, close your eyes and let go, trusting blindly your team will catch you.

Today, I found out my team would never let me fall.


I believe when you lead an endeavor, you stand by your people.
You back your people, you trust your people or you fire your people.

A leader owns their team�s mistakes along with their own. You stand together, or you fall together. You admit the mistake, apply private chastisement when necessary, and accept responsibility.

I didn�t realize how much loyalty I�d bought with brownies and beers, with praise and honest communication; By going to work even with pneumonia to take the fall with my team; By making up for all the �Johnnie Walker Blue� mistakes; By knowing who�s working late and checking to see if they needed dinner brought to them; By having the courage to tell the truth and accept the consequences, rather than lying about problems.

A portion of the management has pissed off my team to the point part of them are only staying because I ask it. They are only dealing with the bullshit because I ask.

That�s � humbling. That�s worth more than that bottle of Johnnie Walker Blue I�ll probably never see.

I�m taking them target shooting next time we have good weather.


Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!