powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-03-03 - 9:30 a.m.


Bounce

Def (noun): (1) A mediocre Ben Affleck movie. (2) what�s finally starting to happen to my health.

Yesterday, more horrible coughing, more tightness of chest. My doc sent me for the chest x-rays �

- why is it being sick is such a chore? Why? Let�s go over the steps.
1. Fight to get appointment. (No, I need to see her today, not next week, I�m sick now.)
2. Sit in waiting room. (At least my doc�s fantastic about being on time.)
3. Get poked and prodded. Argue with nurses that, despite the fact I�m quite plump, my blood pressure is ridiculously low, and they don�t have to started at 180 just for the fun of cutting off my circulation.
4. See doc. I like my doc and all the doctors in the practice. Dr. Johnson is my usual, but if I have to see Dr. Katie or Dr. Bruce, that�s fine. Katie�s nice and Dr. Bruce wears Hawaiian shirts most of the time.
5. Go stand in line at pharmacy. Wait patiently till Jeanette get my Rx and says to come back in half an hour.
6. Kill half an hour in the grocery store. Wonder why the have birds in the rafters about the produce section.
7. Stand in line at the �walk-in� lab, which translates to, �We�re saving ourselves money and staff by not doing appointments. You�ll just have to wait however long the line and destiny says until we get to you. Oh, and we don�t courier, so then you�ll have to wait on the results and run them back to your doctor.�

Yes, didn�t get back from my 11 am appointment until almost 4 pm. Great when the last instruction was �Go rest.�

The only thing more unfair in our world, ask mongolherder who�s been cursed lately, is that when you are the victim of a car accident, it�s still all your time and trouble to get it fixed.

Now, I have serious antibiotics and a nice steroid to deal with the spasms in my airways from all they�ve been put through lately. Sad, but true, I�ve reached the age where I�m comparing drugs with my friends, and not the recreational kind either.

But, I feel better. I think I�ll try to work and see how long the upswing lasts.

Still no eventing for me this weekend; after two weeks of illness, I�m going to take a hint from having seen the doctor three times in under a week, and stay home away from you mass of infectious humanity. You keep your germs to yourselves, and I�ll do the same.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!