powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-02-28 - 11:17 a.m.

Balefully

Balefully is not a word you get to use everyday.


So, said my doctor, after listening to my lungs this morning when were you thinking of going back to work?

Startled, I said, Oh, I worked a few hours Friday, and I was going in after this � but trailed off as she stared at me balefully.

Maybe, I was working a half day before my business trip tomorrow?

Baleful stare.


Yeah. I�ve been benched until at least Wednesday, and my doc�s ticked I went to work at all on Friday. But I had a huge presentation on a huge overrun in my budget, and it took two weeks to find a date all the VIPs could attend a meeting, and I just didn�t want to cancel, since they needed this information yesterday.

(Pause to savor the irony that management always wants the information immediately, but won�t clear their calendars to make themselves available to listen.)

No business trip for me, either. Cancelled. No travel until at least next week.

After the lecture I got on being sick for a month (it�s true; I�ve had this crud since late January) and, if I slept for three days straight, how I obviously, needed to cut my immune system a break - I was too much of a coward to admit I went to the theatre last night with Jake.

But, go we did, and Lorenazzico was fabulous. Even had an evil courtier named Salviati, which amused Jake to no end.


Do you think I�ll get in trouble if I telecon in to my 1 pm meeting? Do doctors have radar for that kind of thing?

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!