powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-02-03 - 2:38 p.m.

Not like Spock

A new month at work, and all the calendars must roll. This month's despair.com calendar reminds me that "It's Always Darkest Just Before It Goes Pitch Black."

Harbringer that my budget inputs are overdue and people are pissed at me? Yeah, I think so.

Hey, it's hard to keep the technical and financial leadership happy. You see, half the project staff worries about money and schedule and the other half worries about technical. It's only the leadership one level down (that'd be me) where they ask us to simultaneously handle tech & programmatics and be all thing to all people.

Of course, the two sides of our brain don't coordinate schedule, so they are angry that I didn't turn in my information the day of my 200 person review. Can't imagine what kept me otherwise occupied.

Pbbbbt.

Now, I'm supposed to miraculously get all the details from forty people instantly to give them info yesterday.

My boss pointed out today he couldn't remember when I last took my flex day.

It's like the third season of the original Star Trek. First season, Spock was just there to be an alien; they didn't know what to do with him. Second season, they explored more unique plots around Vulcan.

But, by the third season, they'd decided Spock was able to warp time and space with only his brain and a busted tricoder while simultaneously playing the lyre thing and annoying Doc McCoy.

Can you say deus ex machina? I knew you could.

I feel like a first season Spock living in a third season plots.

Sigh. There's a reason they call it rocket science.

Of course, they didn't make the original rocketeers do schedule and budget. Old school, we just pasted things together and blew up test units until it worked.

I could go old school about now.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!