powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-01-18 - 7:44 p.m.

Juxtaposition

I was thinking about my grandmother today.


Have I mentioned the heating system at work is antiquated? Old steam heat and cold snaps don�t mix.

Today is the first day of our review (which is going well, by the way) and the room was so cold, I wore my scarf and gloves all day, bundled my coat across my lap and stole my colleague�s wool coat. As I sat there taking notes, my typing slightly impeded by the leather gloves, I was struck by the juxtaposition.

My gloves belonged to my grandmother, a farmer�s daughter with an eighth grade education, who wore them with her dress coat to church every Sunday. Yet here they were, sixty or seventy years old, and typing out technical material for a 21st century spacecraft.

My grandmother, who was the wisest woman I�ve ever known, passed away when I was a teenager. She would�ve never imagined where her Sunday gloves would go.

But, somehow, she wouldn�t have been surprised.

I still wish I could make pickles as well as she did.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!