powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-01-15 - 10:06 a.m.

Signs you�ve been working too hard

Signs you�ve been working too hard:

You know when they open the gates (6 am) and when they lock the gates (7 pm).

You refer to your husband as the �laundry fairy� in embarrassing gratitude for providing of clean underwear. (Hey, Roland. What are we going to do if we�re ever both in the crunch at the same time?
Go commando?
)

The guy at the Burger King drive thru recognizes you.

The guy at the Burger King drive thru notices you look worse and worse each day.

Your PDA has worn a hole in your jeans pocket.

You turn out your pockets at the end of the day to find: breath strips, two USB drives, office keys, and a spoon.


Well, I dropped off the stuff at Kinko�s. I think it�s safe to say, they remember us. They took one look at the two-reams of paper I set on the counter and said �Oh. You guys.�

We broke Kinko�s so bad last time they are scared of us. That�s not something I wanted on my tombstone.

This time, we gave them almost three days. Held a hardline that we were finishing Friday night, and we made people turn in what they had and go home. At least one of them hadn�t slept in 36 hours.

We wouldn�t have made the trip at all except my project manager lost her car keys.

See, paying for the business services is ridiculously complicated for us poor government engineers, who have to copy our own things, buy our own donuts, book our own meetings, and arrange all the supporting materials and technology ourselves. (Crap, I just remembered, we forgot to copy one handout. I�ll do it when I get the boxes from Kinko�s.) Just want to let y�all know that the streamlining government initiatives have left engineers doing admin jobs at four or five times the salary. Good to know that is cost efficient.

Just to use Kinko�s special memos and forms had to be written. We each thought someone else had swung by the project office and picked up the items when we realized our mistake at 5 till 5pm. Only my supreme commander was left, all her admin had gone home. So, a symbotic relationship was formed. She called and beeped enough people and security guards to get the package we needed and I drove her wherever she wanted to get her car keys. (Crap, I forgot to get the handtruck for the Kinko�s boxes. Okay, TC comes in at 6 am and can unlock the mech lab.)

Perhaps, this makes it clear why I really, really envied Kyna when her boss gently took her to task for not pawning off enough things on her admin staff. I would just like to have one.

Now, we just have to survive presenting all this next week. At the same time we finish the material for next week, when we get to do it all again.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!