powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-12-07 - 9:45 p.m.

Don�t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!

Sorry to interrupt, Theo, says M, wading into the chaos of the three people asking me three different questions simultaneously, but it�s just you and me against them all.

I blink. Really? No one else thinks it�s funny? My dramatic reading didn�t win anyone over?

No, not really. They just don�t think it�s funny. I was laughing till tears ran down my face, and you were falling out, but the guys just don�t get it.

Well, I read Thomas Aquinas for humor value, so I�m not sure being in the same boat as me should comfort you. Did you try it on the software guys? With the bus thing, they might�


Today, my colleague, M, brought in a children�s book entitled Don�t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! which features a small bird employing ever trick in the book, begging you to let him live his fantasy and drive the bus.

The little pictures of the pigeon dreaming of using the CB radio are especially piquant.

(M reminds me a lot of mongolherder, three children, kickin�-ass kind of women, really funny.)

The juxtaposition of reading a book where a pigeon pleads and yells for relief at the same time my stressed team (insert drama I can�t talk about) is working frantically to make our deadlines just struck me as funny.

C�mon. I�ve never driven a bus, but my cousin Herb drives one every week�

Hmmm. Maybe it�s funnier live. I do a good pigeon voice.

Maybe I�ll take my dramatic reading over to the software team who�s trying to sort out databus transactions for three different protocols.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!