powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-12-01 - 12:15 p.m.

Never get directions from someone holding a hand grenade

You can�t be serious. You cannot be serious that you mucked up the electrical interface specification and my team has to find a way to feed redundant driver circuits into a single serious of solenoid coils rather than the prime and redundant series we�d speced? That�s 480 Watts of power that my team has to find a way to diode or and return!

Could you have mentioned this sooner? It�s not like the circuit design is done and we�re going to fabrication in two weeks. Oh, wait, it�s exactly like that.

My lead electronics designer has already had a sept-tuple (yes that�s seven) bypass this year; lay off the poor man.


The list of red items on my whiteboard top ten list is longer and longer. Crap.


Luckily, I�m in a good mood today have enjoyed a lovely Evensong service at the National Cathedral. Not that Mel and Rob were any help.

So, I�m trying this new way into the city through Northeast. What cuts west from New York Avenue so I can get to Mass Ave/Wisconsin?

Roland: I�m a Northwest driver. I�ve got no help.

So what you�re saying is I should give up and call Mel?

Pretty much, yes.

Brrrriiing. Hi Mel! What�cha doing?

I�m drinking a hand grenade!

You�re what?

I�m in New Orleans, for business, and we flew down early, so we�re drinking.

So, you�re not going to be very helpful with DC geography right now?

Not as such.

Mel did try asking her coworker, but in the end, I had to add a new item to my 'Rules I Live By' list:

Never start a land war in Asia.
Never let Forgal drive the trailer.
Never bring a knife to a gun fight.
Never get directions from someone holding a hand grenade.

Thus, a few minutes late for service was I, but I�m sure God knew where I was.

And he even passed along a sign. The service mentioned St. Andrew, which made me realize I should have (smack hand in middle of forehead to indicate cluelessness here) just called Andrew, who was home, with his wife, near a map, and sober. Live and learn.

I lit a candle for Gyrth.

I�m Methodist, and we really don�t do the candle lighting thing, but I�ve always savored the tradition - besides since Gyrth was Catholic and fire is fun, I thought he appreciate it.

Then, I lit a row for the Red Sox, cause I figured Gyrth would appreciate that more.


Someone is going to have to explain roses to me.
After I completed the labyrinth, I took a walk through the dark and rain drenched Bishop�s Garden and there are *still* roses in bloom, dramatic and dark silhouettes against the brightly lit cathedral towers.

Why are roses blooming in December?

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!