powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-11-02 - 12:49 p.m.

Rock the Vote!

Time in the poll line: Hour and five minutes.

Arrived just five minutes after the polls were open, and you could barely find a spot in the lot of the middle school that is my personal cradle of democracy.

Isn�t that awesome?

Oh, sure, I would�ve rather not wait in line, but I have *never* seen this kind of turnout at the polls.

Go America for getting off the couch and voting! Now if we�d just all get off the couch and exercise, but that�s a different rubicon.


In other fascinating tidbits of my life, I sew and madly work on other chores. That consumed the weekend and will consume this week.

My Roland is carrying my favor this Crown (warm gushy feeling of being loved and worshiped), which I am earning by finally making him proper pourpoint and surcoat.

Of course my over-achiever wants a surcoat that matches his armor in his time period � a bit like the livery from this Froissart illustration. So, I�m executing a theory I�ve kicked around with Clare � tight fitting pullover with side lacing.

Though, we did argue about the sleeves. The Rene d�Anjou melee pictures (no public domain images, and I don�t break copy laws cause AoD taught me manners) and most of the Froissart illuminations show the higher ranking nobles with a fuller surcoat, bell sleeves to about the elbow. [Check out King Henry in the left of the picture linked above.] But sleeves catch in the armor, so Mark I will have no sleeves.

Let this be a lesson to you all. The more armor books someone owns, the more elaborate the research arguments become.

The new forearms, however, are just beautiful. What impresses me the most is that he made the hinges, but that�s probably because I admire the precision of the small and fussy bits.

Which reminds me, I have to go clarify 0.002� in a connector pin length this afternoon, before my techs throttle me.

Now, I've officially digressed into the truly boring. Lunch, that's what I need.


If you haven�t voted yet, go!

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!