powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-08-09 - 8:51 p.m.

Staples, sex, figs, and other points of philosophy

I�ve been reading Robert Fulghum lately. That always makes Roland the victim of me being interesting, keeping him up late reading stories about cellos.

Or did Roland say tedious? I mix those up sometimes.


There is, in fact, a palpable reason that professional upholsters have air-power staple guns.

There are eight newly upholstered dining room chairs now roaming wild and free in the house. Perhaps not roaming. Perhaps they are staying mostly where I left them. But, honestly, I haven�t checked in the past hour.

You see, I fixed myself a rather stiff rum and coke, and Roland rubbed my sore paws for a long while.

Roland just might get sex tonight.

(Roland encourages me to mention our love life in the hopes it will make son-of-prudish man flinch. Since s.o.p would never admit to flinching, I�m not sure what is the point, but I love Roland lots, so I try to indulge him.)

Oh, look, I�m getting my shoulders rubbed. Go me.


Speaking (again) of sex, I am remarkably disturbed by the number of guestbook suggestions concerning skateboards and sex.

Take of the training wheels? At what point were there training wheels on a skateboard?


Two weeks vacation. It really is working out quite heavenly.

No, I still haven�t started packing for Pennsic. I�m having too much fun doing other things.

There was the failed quest for mission figs, so I had to improvise an appetizer with grapes, manchego cheese and pistachios. Don�t panic. It all came out just fine. Of course, most people just ate the happy face cheese. (Yes, I located a cheese composite made of fine Lancshire-yellow- and Leicester-white- cheese, formed into a happy face. With a nose. Gourmet cheese with humor.)

Also, have noticed that the National Cathedral holds Evensong every, well, evening. Must do that before I get back to work. And, who knew - they have a labyrinth. I have the huge urge for sacred music, possibly caused by listening to Orff�s Carmina Burana on repeat during the great painting escapade, Last Tuesday of every month, they have a Cathedral Crossroads where they open the labyrinth for walking meditation.

I know what I�m doing the last of the month.


And while we�re on things sacred �

(Yeah, I did start with sex and moved to sacred services, but if you�re ever listened to the Carmina Burana, you�d know it covers everything from paens to psalms to drinking songs.)

- I drug Roland through an argument concerning how Dante was wrong. I�ve been re-reading those reshelved books. Here it is:

Dante's Infero placed Judas Iscariot in the mouth of the devil in the ninth circle of hell, a punishment for the greatest traitor of all time. That bothers me. Judas�s actions set in motion the chain of events leading to the torment of crucifixion, and the miracle of resurrection. God needed Judas.

And, there is no sin too great to be forgiven. No sin. So, why eternally damn Judas?

We got stuck at this point because neither of us are well educated enough to know if historical or liturgy records whether Judas ever asked for forgiveness

Yes, it�s clear he had regret. He threw the money back at the temple elders and went out and hanged himself.

Suicide is a mortal sin. At least, there days it is. But, in the early Christian era, it wasn�t. Wasn�t till the sixth century that the church � tired of people um, hastening, their entrance to the glorious afterlife � made it a sin.

So, I�m still stuck. Can�t decide if Judas asked forgiveness. Not sure if his suicide was a sin. In some lexicons, suicide is the ultimate act of atonement.

Wouldn�t the irony read better if they�d traded out Judas for Jesus rather than Barabbas?

I think I need a Jesuit. Or a Jew.


Roland thinks I�m my own field trip

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!