powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-07-27 - 12:28 p.m.

Many coats of colors�

Such a dazzling coat of colours
How I love my coat of many colours

It was red and yellow and green and brown
And scarlet and black and ochre and peach
And ruby and olive and violet and fawn
And lilac and gold and chocolate and mauve �

- �Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat�, Andrew Lloyd Weber


Bbrring. I climb off the ladder in the living room/dining room/painting whirlwind to grab the phone.

Hello, Emma, my Emma.

Hey, Theo. How are you?

Colorful.

Colorful?

I�m painting. Actually, I am currently spackling. They now make *pink* spackle, which is very exciting. It�s that cheap bubble gum pink, too. Baby pink, with just a hint of purple.

Pink. I bet Roland�s excited about that.

Well, he�s just walked in and, well, he appears to be, um, noticing. But, but, but, it turns white as it dries. Then, you know you can sand. It�s like a safety thing.

What color are you painting?

Mousse Moose. Yes, I had a hard time ordering it with a straight face.

Well, you go you non-girly girl. Caf� au lait kind of color? I�m thinking of painting something like that.

All you need is to get D some pink spackle.

Ummm. Not so much. Daemon is more of a remove a wall kind of guy.

But, I�m sure you didn�t call to discover I was painting. I listen sympathetically. Ah, KmoLing in July. Hang on. �.

�. Roland! It�s Emma. She�s had a glass of wine and your marshals are monkeys again.

I leave them to sorting out paperwork, but I interrupt long enough to tell Emma all about the corner tape. � Little triangles of tape, per cut with perfect 90 degree edges. And, each one had a Duck in the middle. How can you not love that? Duck duct tape! It�s what holds the world together.

You know, Theo, I deal with crazy people like you all day. You must stop.

I slink away, hearing Roland say Welcome to the randomness that is my world. Pause. Yeah, our choice of spouses have saved two other normal people.

Sigh. Some people just have no appreciation for cool tool technology.


Wow. The Duck Tape website is cool. Did you know that duct tape was invented in 1940, during World War II? American Gis used it for everything from fixing windows to contriving bandages.

They have (even I�m slightly afraid) under �Creative Uses of Duck tape a section on animals.

"I use Duck(r) Tape to tape the teats on my dairy cows. It keeps the teats from getting bruised, which in turn means better milk production."

Pat H. Wisconsin Rapids, WI

"Use Duck� Tape to wrap the mouth, hands and feet of an alligator when you catch him."

Richard M. Panama City, FL


Just have to get through a busy afternoon. Then, I can return home to the paint project, where smiling ducks grace the corners of my windows, ready to protect the glass from the trim brush.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!