powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-07-15 - 12:28 p.m.

Catharsis

When done well, evocative and brillant drama is like a knife to the heart.

Last night's performance of Cyrano was the best thing I've seen on the stage this season. One of the best ever. Ever.

It's hard to get a Wednesday night theatre crowd out of the chairs, but when Cyrano (Geraint Wyn Davies) took his call, the entire theatre surged to their feet.

Haven't seen that since Patrick Stewart performed Othello.

It's a good thing Alan handles weepy women well, since Gen, Mel and I sniffled all the way through Act II. I wept through the entire finale.

No wonder our word for the emotional release associated with drama comes from the Greek work 'to purge'.

I cannot commend it highly enough. If you can, make time to go. As a bonus, one of the 'cadets of Gascony' reminds me a lot of Freddy.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!