powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-07-13 - 1:20 p.m.

When a tree falls in suburbia

I grin at Roland over the dissected cypress tree and say, It is always easier to face my problems while holding an axe, stealing from Buffy The Vampire Slayer.

Roland took the axe away shortly after that.


Sunday, we eeked away at improving our abysmal landscaping - taking out the hideous cypress to the right of the garage. Again, we shock suburbia by using the truck (yes, SUV means sports/UTILITY vehicle people) to pull. I don�t think the neighbors have ever watched someone jerk with a truck before.

Not of my tribe.

Finally, the tree falls. Roland looks at me. Now what?
Well, my mom usually drives the truck to the back forty, dragging the tree along.
I don�t think that�s an option.

We switched to clippers and axe, ripping asunder greenery into small enough pieces for Roland-and-Theo power to drag out back.


Yesterday, I fielded a circuit of cell phone calls from the nursery driver who was lost with our new tree. In fact, I had to sit through fifteen minutes of static on my work phonemail from his failure to disconnect. He called me, he called my husband. He was incomprehensible and completely lost. I resorted to calling the nursery to have them locate the truck.

On cell phone call #5, the driver said he�d stopped a cab driver, gotten directions and was unloading the truck into our driveway now. This left me quite nervous that he was at the wrong house.

But, there was triumph. I arrive home (late-damn-my-job) to find Roland has completed excavation and the tree is sitting next to the hole.

Excited, I say to Roland, So, can we plant the tree now?
Roland, who is on his third shirt of the evening, having sweated through two, says Knock yourself out.

I blink. Then, I say You are so adorable when you say �Fuck you� very politely. This cause his brother (visiting us for the week) to nearly fall off the chair laughing. I think, somehow, my sister-in-law will blame me for this.


I am still thinking up words that adequately describe the joy and beauty of Bryce�s knighting, but I fear to essay anything after BdeB has already written his own story.

Perhaps, I will say just this.

For the first time in my life, I truly know someone who is the hero of his own story.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!