powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-05-17 - 1:00 a.m.

Ride of the Valkyrie

Today is a professional first for me.
I sent in an .mp3 of Wagner's "Ride of the Valkyries" as an action item response.

Now, I've sent in Dilbert cartoons before, but this is my first venture into the audio medium of smartass answers to ridiculous questions.

Valkyrie - Guess that wasn't even subtle.


The weekend? Blissful and only minorly productive. We watched "The Last Samuri" (two thumbs way up) and a good chuck of "From Earth to the Moon." Laundry was done, Roland braved the evil Costco and grocery stores respectively. Various, puttering chores got completed.

Ring. Hello?
Hey. You busy?
No, we were just hanging a shelf.
Pause. Is that a new euphemism for sex in the afternoon?
No. If we're doing that I don't answer the phone.
Oh. Okay.

We even thought about working in our sad yard, but, inertia overcame. Besides, my Mom is coming to visit in a few weeks, and she will be the person for this chore.

Mom is a garden person. Plants, vegetables, flowers, she's the whiz with plants. Also, unlike poor Roland, can still breathe in greenhouses full of flowering plants - big plus in a plant shopping partner.

Best of all, she owns a logging chain. And she's already packed it, anticipating using the low gears in my truck (I've got more torque than her truck) to help with shrubbery removal. It's a passive-agrressive Southern thing -

"The hedge by your front door are really brownish. [I didn't want to mention this, sweetheart, but they are as ugly as sin, hon.] I could help you remove that [hideous] shrubbery."

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!