powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-05-11 - 7:11 a.m.

A tale of two drills

Back up, educaitlin, cause yesterday I had not one, but two drills. The mediocre one I usually horc (patented Jeremy word meaning 'borrow without permission but with intention to return - I wonder if it's really spelled that way) was out of power. Sad, dead battery, slowly dimishing torque. Had to track down the professional DeWalt in the propulsion lab.

Why? Cause the cool secretary got me a whiteboard that I can use to lure my team to work. Here engineer, engineer; new, clean whiteboard. Fresh markers. Here engineer. Work, engineer, work. It took under 30 minutes from installation until there was thruster geometry sketched in.

Now, if the cool secretary just knows how to find an exterminator. A cockroach ran laps under my desk yesterday, crossing my foot twice. They have become too bold and must be smacked down. (Here bug. C'mere. I want to kill you. Onlooking colleague: I don't think "come here so I can kill you" will work Fast little buggers.)


No Gen. No blood yet. Have stored that little icy anger until later. Once I'm in cold rage, I can wait patiently, like a sleepy cat who just occasionaly, lazily swishes their tail.

It helps that I had a completely fabulous weekend with my Shaggy and friends, though the seven-people-in-a-Suburban ride to the wedding did make the phrase I could die nowhere so contented run through my head - though that may have just been seven people trying to agree on music. I bet car trips were simpler before we had audio.

Narr, Nia, and BdeB are frighteningly encyclopedic about music.

At least the truck wasn't a seafoam and turquoise mystery machine.


Okay. Fine. Alright. I will own my inner Velma. But I will *not* wear orange.


The wedding?

Fabulous. Fabulous. Warm a bit, but still fabulous.

Amazing mansion place with beautiful garden for the wedding.

Jessica glowed. I mean, glowed, beaming, beautiful, graceful, happy, glowed. Kevin was tall, handsome, and seemed, at least once, dumbstruck by his good fortune (as well he should be.) I got to be 'Eternal God' girl.


Which prayer do you want me to read? I ask, scanning the long list. This one.
Which? Oh, I see. "Eternal God, creator of all things,..." I'm on it .

I was all happy to get to participate, even if Mel did tease me. Hmmm. 'Eternal God girl' cannot be good for your ego.

Humph. But, hey, didn't the Mel look fabulous with the sassy fringy skirt and strappy heels? Also, big points to Ella, whose dress matched her tattoo.

The food was excellent. Perfect and light springtime fare with lots of fresh vegetables. And correctly cooked Southern green beans. Aaaah. I rarely induldge, cause most people boil the beans to brown without properly understanding the slow simmer and fatback necessary to make them right.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!