powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-05-04 - 5:25 p.m.

A matter of scale

Time I got to work yesterday: 7 am.
Time the movers were supposed to show up: 9 am
Time the movers did show up: 12:15 pm
Time I finally got lunch: 4 pm.
Number of boxes unpacked: 15.
Time I left work last night: 8:45 pm.


Time spent this morning hanging the scale model of the solar system: 1 hour 15 minutes

+Fetching a ladder from the truck lock: 3 minutes.

+Unpacking pieces of the model and getting them ready to suspend from the ceiling: 10 minutes

+Attempting to figure out which planet was which: 5 minutes
Deciding the planets didn�t look right (what do I expect from a child�s model?): 3 minutes.

+Locating a reference tabulating the planets� sizes and studying the relative scales only to find them inaccurately sized: 7 minutes.

+Abandoned the idea of identifying planets by scale. Attempting to identify planet by color/composition of the planet atmosphere: 12 minutes (with 7 spent arguing about where sulphuric gas [Venus] emission fall in the EM spectrum [color].

+Saying the hell with it and making Mars red and Neptune sea-green based on Greek mythology: 1 minute.

+Measuring the size of the office and working out the scale distance placement across the ceiling: 10 minutes.

+Suckering help with the measuring: 2 minutes

+Time on ladder: 15 minutes (with interruptions from passers-by asking if we was hanging them to account for the inclinations relative to the ecliptic, which were ignored.)

+Time to return ladder: 10 minutes.

Why does it take 10 minutes to return a ladder, you ask? (Or maybe you didn�t, but I�ll tell you anyway.) Because I now live on a floor with some engineers and mostly paper-pushers, who were aghast at me (a girl) carrying a 8 foot ladder around without a work order or maintenance crew (read that as men) accompanying frail little ole me.

Slender blonde woman stops me in the hallway (cause it�s always helpful to stop someone carrying something):
Are you okay?
Yes, I�m fine thanks.
Are you sure? I can get some of the guys to help.
I blink, but decide that I should be polite since I just moved into this area.No, I�ve got it.
Are you sure? You�re an awful little girl for that big ladder.

Shocked, I think loudly �You did *not* just say that to me. Not in the 21st century.� But, I am saved from saying more because the elevator arrives and I exit stage center.

When I went to fetch the drill and screw driver, I took the opposite route to my office, successfully avoiding the strange and frail creatures who inhabit the hallway near the elevator lest the thought of a girl with tools frighten them.


Time I started writing today�s 10 am presentation: 9:40 am.

But (aaaah) the office is all set up.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!