powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-04-26 - 9:59 a.m.

Can you do that with a sea urchin?

Dammit, where is Daemon when I need him? Last night was Iron Chef American, Battle of the Masters, and I could not get D on the phone to say Dude, he just made a bowl out a sea urchin! And ice cream out of raw spiny lobster?! WTF?

Yeah, I own my obsessions, along with a ridiculous number of kitchen gadgets. But who knew a sea urchin�s insides were 90% reproductive organs? What�s the point in having that much sexual power packed into something that is covered with viscous spikes? Maybe to make sure it takes in the rare event two sea urchin to manage to come together.

Great, now Sewer Urchin�s theme song is stuck in my head.


My dad and his wife took me to dinner Saturday night while Roland was out with the boys. I�m working my way through the interesting restaurants off Washingtonian�s �Top 100� list � Saturday nights� pick was Jean-Michel, tres excellent cuisine francais.

Dad, bless his heart (Anne knows what that�s Southern for) had no idea you had to order souffl� at the beginning of the meal in order to get it for dessert. In fact, he had no idea what a souffl� was. The ritual of scraping crumbs from the tablecloth between courses also threw him, along with the fact that I own a crumb scraper. (I once charmed a waiter into giving me his. Of course, Roland and I had spent lunch killing an entire bottle of wine � Roland tells me I was just adorable by the point I decided I wanted the crumb scraper.)

We wandered through Sutton Place gourmet after dinner, where I scored pancetta and Grade B maple syrup (much better for cooking than the Grade A table syrup). Dad managed to find a butcher that grew up only an hour from our hometown. While they chatted in ever deepening Appalachian accents, Trudi tormented herself by browsing all the coffee she�s not allowed to have anymore.


Friday, we played hooky from work to spend the day in yuppie-dom. First, another unpleasant argument with Home Depot. Remember they screwed up the water heater order so badly we cancelled to order? Well, they also charged us for four water heaters and refunded one. They can�t find a record of this, despite our credit card statement showing they did so. Also, it�s apparently drama to resolve this since they�ve already closed the books on that month and we shouldn�t have waited so long to resolve the issue. (fuckers � our credit card fraud department caught it the day we placed the order and we told them to correct it at that point). The visit was made more unpleasant by the manager on duty being the asshole who has been nasty about the entire thing. He refused to make eye contact with us, told us it was the corporation�s fault not his, and denied ever being rude to us in the past.

Always do the unpleasant thing first; it ensures good karma for the rest of the day. Subsequent stops to pick out patio furniture and buy a grill were easy � kind, courtesy, knowledgeble salespeople. Even if the grill was assembled just in time for the rain to come bucketing down preventing barbeque glory.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!