powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-04-20 - 8:45 p.m.

Some days you win

Round One:

I won a technical argument today. The one we started two months ago. The one I was certain we would never win.

I�m sure the donuts helped.
You brought food? I don�t bring food for anything short of a major review.
You�re not southern.
That�s right. You�re a Virginian aren�t you?
To be a citizen of the Commonwealth, by birth or marriage, is a benediction from the Almighty God.
I � see.

I'm left befuddled. Waiting for the other shoe to drop.

Round Two:

Meanwhile, my colleague was busy dealing with risks from Cassandra�s keg drama. Again, our unwillingness to bow down to common wisdom was sharply criticized � until, suddenly, the manager that had been our harshest critic shut everyone down. It�s a solid plan, with hard data and a defined schedule. We should let them finish their job. Besides, once we thought we should make everyone put in the extra design features and aren�t we sorry now?

Stunned.

We could be Machiavellin about this say our critics.
You know I say Machiavelli died penniless and in exile.

Win two.

Round Three:

I still haven�t worked all the issues with my problem employee. But, his management has assigned two people I trust to stand on top of him. So, the problem is solved.

Either (a) I will be proven wrong and he will come up to standard or (b) his management will feel they have done everything possible, admit defeat, and assign someone who makes me happy. Yes, I will have to invest some time, but so it goes.

Round Four:

One of the most brilliant, yet flaky, people on my team has apparently spent the last two days telling everyone that I�m amazing at my job. This is like getting a compliment from Gonzo. Odd. Good, but odd.

I�m not going to think this last bit through too much.

I�m afraid to go to work tomorrow. It can�t be this good two days in a row.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!