powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-03-24 - 12:36 a.m.

How much we're allowed to disturb ourselves

Ah, the glamour of travel. Another wild trip to the west coast - arriving extremely late on Monday, working extremely late on Tuesday, taking an 8 am flight home tomorrow - which (due to the magic involving time zones and the rotation of the earth) means I will loose hours racing against the sun and get home about 12 hours later.

(Though, we should all be glad the Earth rotates. While I'm sure the moon is charming with it's consistent dark and light side, experiments have proven humans get a little wonky without the polestar of day and night. Though even our rotating planet has it's spots - The Sluggy Freelance cartoon pointed out that winter in Alaska must be a perfect vacation spot for vampires with constant night for weeks on end around the solstice.)

(I'm going to stop this tanget before I start blathering on about the ecliptic.)

(Don't say anything Tristan.)

It was a very good day working with out science teams on detailed interface and requirements. Besides, there were running two tests in the basement, so while I was scoring more free science toys, we got to poke around the autocolumninator.

But it was exhausting and intense. After nine straight hours, we finally gave up and took a break when the jitter requirement discussion devolved into the Science team passionate cry of Well, at some point, sooner or later, we've all got to agree on how much we're allowed to disturb ourselves!

(Anyone that wants me to explain how we got to that point and what the hell actually had to do with science will need to buy alochol and give me a whiteboard.)


Yawn.

I need sleep before the misery of cross CONUS air travel tomorrow.

Next time, I need to plan the trip better and try to see Celynen again.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!