powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-03-15 - 7:19 p.m.

Life�s A Beach

This is Robin Leech, in lifestyles of the not-rich and never-famous�, intones my brother-in-law as we wind along the drive amongst the fancy houses of Palm Beach.


My husband�s cousins are crazy. No, seriously.

They threw a 70th birthday gala for his aunt this weekend, which gave me an opportunity to finally meet all the people behind the faces on the family Christmas cards. Roland warned me, and the open bar was quite a hint - but it wasn�t until his cousin Kim said grace that I truly understood.

Now, I know the Belief-O-Matic quiz thing is running around Diaryland, but tell me which in which religion do you join hands around the table, and says a grace that turns into a toast and winds up at the bar?

And thus the weekend passed, amidst in-laws and cousins once removed, floating in the pool and splashing in the ocean along Palm Beach. Roland�s parents and aunt have condos where they ride out the winter with fruity wine and Caribbean breezes.

Let me tell you, SPF-white girl could learn to change her opinion on beach vacations.

Now I just have to write a few thank you notes. Perhaps send a nice bottle of wine. Or whisky, since we spent several hours this weekend trying to teach the cousins how to reach beyond Oban and Macallan.

Hmmm. Texas BBQ and the Ren faire. Could be fun.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!