powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-02-29 - 12:07 p.m.

When engineers argue about English

Snippets from Friday's requirements review.

... so I had written 'biweekly', since this describes something we're going to do every two weeks. But, then Ted points out biweekly means both 'every two weeks' and 'twice a week.'

Since Ted had a point, I went through all the thesaurus options from Dictionary.Com, and 'fortnightly' is the only word that means 'every two weeks'.

Tangential discussion about Victorian literature ensures, eventually circling back to the point.

But, Ted also pointed out we would do this every two weeks if needed. But, if not, we'd skip it. So, if you'll look at the next version, you'll see it reads 'fortnightly as necessary.'

Pause for discussion on why it would or wouldn't be necessary.

Then, from the back of the room, the voice of reason we call Dennis says Stop messing around with the 'fortnight and biweekly. Why not just write 'every two weeks'?

Crickets for all the people who'd be so cleverly seduced by fortnightly that they couldn't see the practical.

I buried my head in my laptop and giggled.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!