powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-02-23 - 7:46 a.m.

Parabolic stuffed animals

After extensive abuse of prescription drugs, I believe the back pain thing is slowly coming under control. Thanks for all the well-wishes.

And in my head, I hear Niobe's voice saying You did neglect to keep your prescription filled, and your medical records up to date. And you choose not to regularly do your physical therapy.

Anyway.

Saturday night I spent studying the parabolic trajectories of stuffed animals, idly tossing the bear at the beige ceiling, carefully plotting the throw to return Pooh bear to my hands for another flight.

Roland arrived home from the event at about this point, and curled up on the bed to speak, as couples do, of the days events. For my part, I have little to report except that the ceiling is still most decidely beige.

I pause in my tossing game and burrow around in the blankets until I locate the smaller Pooh bear, because it is now his turn to fly.

Roland pause in conversation to observe the switch in stuffed animal astronauts. After a moment he says So, does the smaller bear have less of a drag coefficient?

How embarassing. How embarassing to be caught calculating stuffed animal's surface area and it's effect on their arced flight, which is probably why I choose the weak defense The drop isn't long enough to see any difference. And it's not like my throws are calibrated or repeatable

I stopped talking and burrowed under the covers while Roland howled in amusement.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!