powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-02-21 - 5:44 p.m.

For my next trick

I stare at the beige ceiling. Bored. Very bored now. I�m beginning to see the point of mounting a TV on the ceiling. Bored. I pause to glance at my sweet husband.
So, there�s no chance of crazy Friday night sex, eh?

Roland looks at me with his unique mix of patience and exasperation, where I am lying flat on my back, overdosed on serious anti-inflammatories in a vain attempt to combat the amazing back pain which flared up this week.

I would rather you not scream in pain.

I look rebellious. Look, I can roll over now I say, shifting from back to side with only a small wince. For my next trick, I�m thinking about sitting up.

Un-huh he replies skeptically.

He pets me on the head, makes a smart-ass remark about teaching me to play dead and get some rest, then leaves to fetch me drink, more drugs and nutritious snack.

If you didn�t look kind of like chocolate, we wouldn�t have this problem, I yell after him.

Must be why Hershey bars say �Happiness� on each square.


Sorry for the oversharing. It�s the funniest thing that�s happened all week.

So this week has sucked. First, there was a cold which is 90% gone, but caused me to miss dinner with Lis and Gina. But, let�s talk about the star of the show. My back has � for the first time in months � flared up. This is somewhat intriguing in a clinical fashion. The interior of the legs go numb, while the lower back and outer leg muscles feature excruciating shooting pains.

Friday, I barely made it through half a day of work. Another, two hours spent wrangling with doctor�s offices to get my prescription refilled. I�m pretty sure I cried at some point, which is amazing given my threshold for pain.

After 36 hours of serious overdosing, I can now sit up for about an hour at a time. This makes it quite difficult to complete all the work I need to have finished for Monday.

Grrrr.

My own damn fault, I suppose, for neglecting my PT and my drugs.

The house needs serious rearrangement and cleaning, I have tons of technical work to do, and I�m sentenced to lying flat with brief interruptions of uprightness.

You know things are fairly pathetic when the thought of being able to fold laundry seems exciting, though you�re not brave enough to dream of carrying the basket anywhere.

I have to go lie down now.

At least I can take the laser pointer and torture my cat. He's begun to mew excitedly whenever he spots someone picking up the device, though how he can tell it from a regular pen is beyond me...

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!