powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-02-09 - 11:14 p.m.

What we really want

You know, there's a difference between requirements and what we really want. - one more quote from my mission team colleagues.


My project has gone bonkers on doing things the right way. We are writing good requirements. I am totally in favor of this.

But.

But, you cannot pretend this is an instantaneous process. We're pretending that it will take no time to complete quality work.

Yet, we keep setting ourselves up for failure and disappointment, by pretending we can complete all our deadlines simultaneously. What does this achieve? Inevitably, something doesn't get finished on time. Inevitably, people end up angry and cranky that things are done.

I am officially tired of my job, having reached new levels of pathetic-ness by not only sending business email at 11 pm Saturday night, but receiving prompt responses from my colleagues.


So, let's talk about something besides my job.

Huge HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Mel! Love my Mel.

As a footnote, it was also Martin's birthday, for which he received a $2 office plant which he promptly named George and threatened to water with Mountain Dew.


Yesterday, fabulous Lucia cooked nice homey lamb and potatoes. We killed three bottles of excellent wine, played three rounds of Clue Fx, and built parfaits out of the Theo provided components -

Cause, everybody loves parfait. - Shrek

- which had extra chocolatey pudding, just for Miles.


It's so strange, as much as I love my job, as much as I expect to give 110%, I'm left wondering what I really want from life - because it isn't to keep working nights and weekends.


K, I love my present with the nose.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!