powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-10-22 - 11:17 a.m.

Enchantments of evil

In the past weeks, as I�ve listened to the news from Iraq and counted the lives lost, as I�ve heard the President�s soundbites from Bali proclaiming we will win the war on terrorism, as we see more stories of airport security being nothing of the sort � I wonder. I wonder if we can ever win the war on terrorism.

This is not a lack of faith or patriotism.
It�s a simple question of how do you know when you�ve won? The end will not be an obvious triumph marked with light and magic. I don�t know what it will mark the day we can retire to peace.

Evil conquered? You have learned much, but learn this last and hardest of lessons. You have conquered only the enchantments of evil. That was the easiest of your tasks, only a beginning, not an ending. Do you believe evil itself to be so quickly overcome? Not so long as men still hate and slay each other, when greed and anger goad them. Against these even a flaming sword cannot prevail.

-Prince Gwydion�s final lesson. Lloyd Alexander. The Chronicles of Prydain: The High King.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!