powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-10-14 - 7:42 p.m.

Somebody ought to teach monkeys justice

Let me throw in my review of Crusades.

Oh wait, I didn�t go.

So, let me be very SCAdian for a moment.

Pay attention kids, for I shall proceed to rant on authoritatively about wrongs commited based only on second hand information, culminating in a peak moment where I shall diagnose the evils of the world � only to notice that truly I can�t fix anything - Cause I know this much is true: You can�t teach justice to monkeys.

(For reference, this is classified by Nia as Scotch drama)


What is up with incredibly slow troll? My daytripping buddies came back again with reports of very very long check in lines.

Check this market research. Most people don�t pre-reserve, especially when we intend to daytrip. We�re bums, but it�s true. So, most of the people arriving Saturday morning are not pre-registered.

Okay, then we can infer you will have more daytrippers than pre-regs to check in.

So why, oh, why, does every event I attend recently have one person handling pre-regs and only pre-regs, and a second person handling daytrips and only daytrips? Why not have multiple trolls just for the rush shifts? This (if I may terribly misquoting Thomas More) leads to the inevitable conclusion that you first engender long lines and then fail to manage them.

Drives me nuts.
Not just cause I have to wait impatiently in a long line, but because it�s so obvious that people are *not* designing troll to meet the trends in our culture. I stood in a long line at Coronation while the single daytrip troll held a superfluous social conversation, paying no heed to the next dozen cued up. And she was the only troll who could check in daytrippers. The pre-reg troll station sat helplessly, while she chatted away.

Troll should be a kind greeting at the door, a smooth welcome from your hosts. Instead, it seems to something to scramble through, leading to a frazzled begin rather than a gentle entre.


Oh, and second-hand props to Emma, my bag o�chips, and Ilse for stepping in to man the list tables without sufficient prior arrangement. Or sufficient staff. The East did it again, didn�t they? Sigh. It�s a war. Why is the concept that more than one MOL is needed to check in hundreds of fighters escape their attention?

Props for being more polite than me ladies, cause when they did that to me at Crusades several years back, I put the Eastern autocrat up against the wall after court. Literally. You�d be so proud, Christian, cause I�m here to say that big red barn of a hall offers ample walls to back people against. (Her feeble excuse was the East, and in particular her household, had run Pennsic that year and they were tired. They why did you put in a bid? This isn�t a work deadline � it�s a job you volunteered for.)


I guess I just can�t comprehend people setting themselves up to barely manage, rather than thinking a few things through.

Couldn�t we be good hosts and design events that minimize the necessary hassle rather than add to it?

I�m such an effin� systems engineer.


Take the recycling bins in my office building. We have four drink vending machines than dispense beverages in glass or plastic. Yet, we have one and only one tiny glass/plastic bin. However, two large aluminum bins are provided. The glass/plastic bin, which matches the goods they purvey, is as far away as possible from the entrance to the room.

I snapped and rearranged the bins last week based on my authority as no one in particular. I�m now waiting to see how long it takes to move them back.


Maybe that�s all I�ve really learned about being an adult. That it�s the time you decide to be Somebody, rather than shaking your head and saying �Somebody ought to fix that.�


This is turning out quite ranty, isn�t it? Strange. I had a truly restful weekend.

And, Lisette? Great chat.


Last random thought, based on spilling red wine on white placemats Saturday night � isn�t it strange that the civilizations that wore white togas invented red wine?

Crazy Romans.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!