powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-08-25 - 8:50 a.m.

Word to our sponsors

Now a couple replies to our sponsors, the guestbook visitors

Kevin and Balynar win the points for translating LVPC to Low Voltage Power Convertor. I�m not sure what the points are worth, but I�ll think of something, especially for Kevin who has a birthday in the near future. Oh, wait, I�ve already thought of something for Kevin.

I�ll also think of something for Colin�s cute, but smart-aleck, answer �Lost Vehicle�s Probable Cause.�

Gyrth, I appreciate the concern about my immortal soul. But you�ve got to understand, I read Thomas Aquinas for humor value. And while we�re on people whom popes condemned, remember, I make my living in the space industry and it was only in the last 100 years they un-excommunicated Galileo. I guess the Apollo 8 astronauts reading Genesis on Christmas eve from man�s first orbit around the moon, just as the half-lit earth rose against the lunar dawn, made a lasting impression. It still puts a shiver down my spine.

Thanks bdeb and Alianora for the clarification on Corporate mass. Being a Methodist doesn�t really help with those terms.

Francesca, I never did post a basic tournament reading list, but I always recommend everyone start with the most accessible overview, Tournaments by Barber and Barker, which provides a broad temporal and geographic survey of the subject from Virgil to the Victorian era. It does not, however, address activities of the monastic orders � who really didn�t spend much time at tournament since it was a quick was to damn your immortal soul. The book should be available in a fairly cheap paperback edition.

Hypergolic, if you didn�t look it up, means �Of or relating to a rocket propellant consisting of fuel and an oxidizer that ignite spontaneously on contact.� Injecting oxygen into fuel is like fanning flames and makes a much bigger *boom*. Gyrth probably translated that from the Greek roots hyper/extreme and ergon/work. I think it�s a fine candidate for new slang terms. �Dude, chill. No need to go all hypergolic.�

No cracks from anyone about the Company of the Pelican. Don�t know what that means.


My mom and her crazy friend, Debbie, turned up for Friday and Saturday. We made them eat Italian for lunch, Japanese for dinner, Pennsic chocolate milk for breakfast (shared the last bottle, it must be love), American for brunch, with a finale of steak and salad dinner Saturday night.

Since they wouldn�t express a preference we did what I wanted, which meant taking the Suburban through the car wash � (Twice - don�t ask) � where I discovered my mom had never in her life been through an automatic car wash. Debbie and I considered driving to different ones so she could see the different foam soap colors, but Mom did express an opinion about that.

We convinced them see Seabiscuit Friday night (great movie. Ended three minutes too soon.) and to go book shopping on Saturday to the discount sales In Columbia. Where my mom bought romance books on tape, my, my, my. She also ordered wine with dinner. See her come out of her shell. Or maybe she�s just finally decided to misbehave in front of her child. What the heck � I�ve been misbehaving in front of her for years, some reciprocity is in order.

Just to prove she loves me, she brought me a �Hungry Mother State Park� t-shirt, which is just one more thing I could wear that I�d have to spend the entire day explaining. I suppose that�s also fair, since I sent her grandson Play-Doh, suitable for smooshing in Nana�s carpet, for his birthday.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!