powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-06-17 - 8:32 a.m.

Soft and drippy

Prequel: In which much sniffling ensues; a box is opened; the merits of broth are considered; magic is anticipated; reduction applauded; and the artist fails to control soft and drippy paint.


I�ve been sniffling away with a low grade cold since last Friday, so much of the weekend was spent couch bound, geography which placed me in easy reach of the box of comics.

I�m a quarterly shopper. I�ll spend nothing on recreation for months then, *poof*, suddenly an opportunity presents itself and power shopping. Last comic shop trip, I earned a box (along with big smiles from the owner). Bought a bunch of the trade paperbacks that were on my someday list, including the entire Neil Gaiman Sandman.

Much of the weekend was spent drinking broth, soup or lemon ice while re-reading Sandman for the dozenth time � the �Brief Lives� book features those long, rambling, Victorian era prequels to each chapter.


Food snobbery pays off sometimes.

Ah, you�d think I cook delicious, lovely meals all the time, but truth is I struggle to get enough mail off the table to eat a simple dinner. On the plus side, I had enough ingredients on hand to enjoy chicken, beef, or vegetable broth at my whim, which interspersed with tomato soup and cheese sandwiches, comprised this weekend�s menu.

Chicken is my favorite. Beef is often too salty and vegetable lacks, well, the meaty richness of beef and chicken. Wonder if they sell lamb broth condensed?

I think I�d rather get the SARS plague of death for two days (insert Tonwyn saying wisely to me No, you�d really rather not.) than this irritating low-grade cold that�s come and gone for two weeks. No fever, just a scratchy throat from drippy sinuses.

Done with that ick. On to something else�


Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix arrives Saturday. (Orchestra swells. Snoopy happy dance ensues.) Mine�s been ordered from Amazon.com for over a year. You can guess, sick or healthy, what I�ll be doing this weekend.

Must prepare. Need groceries. We�re out of cheese and I�m down to the last can of tomato soup.


And I do mean need groceries. You see, I woke up last week tired of being fat.

Anyone who�s ever dieted will understand there�s a different between wanting to loose weight and being ready to loose weight. Last Monday, I woke up, for no particular reason, ready to diet. Myself, I�m fond of Weight Watchers. The week one results are in and I�m down 4.5 pounds.

Yes, applause. But, honestly, the first week on a diet always produces these amazing results as your body has as �Hello, shock of nutrition� reaction. Once it starts taking being treated well for granted, that�s when it gets harder.

At any rate, you�re not likely to hear me talk about dieting much, cause of the old Reader�s Digest wisdom �The hardest thing about being on a diet is shutting up about it.� People who suddenly jump on the bandwagon often exhibit irritating apostolic tendencies. Casting a judgmental eye over the table around them, they exclaim how many calories each meal contains. Fine, look at you � you�re having a salad. I�m having a brownie, which may just have less calories than your sesame salad dressing so shut up. Scarred from weight watchers meetings and a dieting coworker with those tendencies.

Anyway, shutting up now before that topic becomes too hypocritical.


Lying on the couch did, eventually, become very wearisome despite the entertaining DVDs and books. So, I pulled out all the silk painting supplies and (which some direction from Daffyd to the local supply store for resist) attempted to paint myself a pennon, an experiment which revealed the following truths.

Straight lines with resist take practice.
Kitten�s heat set directions work great.
I loves me that artsy stretcher frame, a thing of tinker toy beauty and utility..
Geeze, I don�t know much about different kinds of brushes
My backgrounds look (pout) splotchy.

A solid green background around silver ivy leaves � shouldn�t be that hard, eh? Well, it is. Let�s talk about that solid adjective - Each time you begin a new brush stroke, a line of new dye meeting old dye ensues in an effet which would be counted delightful - if I were looking for a tie-dye. But I just want even green tincture. I�ll have to call Taffy or Kitten or someone for suggestions.

Can you blazon drippy green? What would that be heraldically? And if I turned it in on a submission form, what would the College of Heralds say?

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!