powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-06-12 - 10:43 p.m.

Cause if a man asks you to go on a picnic, you should just go.

I opened my laptop this morning and found a card full of true love. Melt.

Yesterday was our ninth anniversary. (Thanks for the happy wishes in the guestbook.)

We celebrated in a way I much recommend � Took the day off of work and spent the day doing whatever struck our fancy.

Purrrr.


After a bit of meandering about Maryland, we called the friendly Tour Guide Genevieve and ask her to give us correct directions to historic Ellicott City. (Trust me, whatever we were doing, while scenic and all companionable, was not getting us to our destination.)

Random pick of Tersiguels paid off in fantastic, let me say that again, fantastic French cuisine and a cozy table for two in the garden room.

Several more hours were spent rambling through the shops, randomly indulging ourselves and holding hands. Though, lest you think we didn�t think of our friends, let me tell you about the ungifts we carefully didn�t buy.

There were horrible Hawaiian shirt coasters not for Bob

Gen will *not* be getting the squirrel salt and pepper shakers that just defy description, nor the fleur de lys topped ironwork fence.

There was an amazing drop leaf table that we could never afford for Laura

Matt will not be receiving the monkey shower curtain nor the talking monkey puppet. And Tonwyn is spared the momma and baby stuffed monkey dolls

The scary spotted margrita glasses will not be adding to Kyna�s tequila bar.

Alan will not receive the floating candles shaped like martini olives � I mean he wouldn�t let me put the inflatable frog in the pond, so what�s the point?

We did find an �opening soon� tearoom that had the most beautiful secretary in the front hallway (Theodora lusts after extremely expensive antique furniture, while Roland is silently grateful it�s not for sale). But, not open yet, so the Padraigin is spared.

Oh, and we did not buy more sheep stuff than I care to talk about for Cuan, though the prim black sheep was definitely my favorite ungift.

It was a leisurely ramble, with snuggling and holding hands and more than the requisite mushy stuff to make my heart go pitter pat. We treated ourselves to a soft blanket for two, which was accompanied by free marbles with purchases.


A stop at the movies for Finding Nemo - two thumbs way up � then acquiring fixings at Chicken Out for a sunset picnic in the park.


Did I ever tell you how we got engaged?

The Pennsic before our final year of college. Overachiever Theo person is sick and sniffy and determined to bake all her own bread and make more garb and �.

� Meanwhile, our hero, Roland, is determined to propose to his college sweetheart. Engagement ring of emerald and diamond in his possession, he schemes with the best-friend-person, Alisandra, to make it perfect.

A plan is hatched. The scene is set � a picnic by the duck pond in the summer twilight. But.

Theo won�t go. A picnic? I have to do insert Pennsic prep chore X,Y,Z,A,B,C and I�m sick. A picnic? Not now.

Frustrated conferences in the college apartment hallways.
Did you ask her yet?
I can�t. She won�t go! She won�t cooperate!

Outflanked, our hero and the clueless girlfriend wind northward to Pennsic land. The entire camp, knowing Roland was proposing, was prepared to congratulate them.
What do you mean you haven�t proposed yet?
She won�t cooperate!

Finally, the Wednesday of war week, the night of Midnight Madness, Roland has had enough. Enough. This is it. It�s time to propose.

However, I, love shopping at War. It�s odd, cause I normally despise shopping in an ungirl like fashion, but I love the Pennsic market. Romantic darkness falls, the market opens, Theo joins the camp group about to head shopping and Roland says�

Let�s walk up to the archery range.
What?
Let�s walk up to the archery range?
Why?
Cause it would be romantic.
We camp halfway to the archery range. Are you serious? It�s midnight madness. It�s shopping.

Roland gives the most effective and adorable puppy dog face and I sigh.
Fine, if you want to go the archery range, now right now, in the middle of shopping night, fine, we�ll go.
And I grumble melodramatically through long trek across the battlefield in the fog and dew You are the best boyfriend and if you want this one little thing right now, fine�

Partway there, Roland snaps. He has had enough. He turns around and says Willyoumarryme?

I stop dead, shocked. And I say, You have got to be kidding.

Now, in my head, the entire sentence was �You�ve got to be kidding, you�re asking me now right now, after all these years, in the middle of a camping thing when I haven�t even brushed my teeth today?!?!� But, all our poor hero heard was the word �You�re kidding� and his beautiful face got all sad�

Let�s just say, by the time we go completely engaged, we needed a stiff drink, we didn�t go shopping, and Roland was able to hold it against me forever. Another time, you can ask Lis how I forgot to ask her to be my maid of honor.

So, the moral of that story is either (a) a man really loves you when he proposes on a day you haven�t brushed, OR (b) if a man asks you to go on a picnic, go. Go cooperatively, peacably, just go!


Our ninth anniversary reminded me why I love Roland more each and every day.

And he�s lying on the couch looking so peaceful and yummy.

�Xcuse me. Gotta go.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!