powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-06-10 - 10:54 a.m.

Saved from cupcaking

I don�t have to make cupcakes tonight.

Let me �xplain. One of my colleague�s wife was due to deliver their first baby in four weeks. They�ve been trying for awhile so this was a much anticipated joy.

Thus, I was leading the herd in throwing a surprise shower for him on Thursday.

Note the verb tense was. Cause she had the baby yesterday. So much for gift shopping at lunch today - I think a panicked new father will be out buying everything in sight.

I left them a message of congratulations with a pithy comment about his tendency to front load all of our schedules. (He�s my technical boss, sorta. It�s complex. Nevermind.)

I should buy them crib sheets. Cause the first time we knew our puppy-like Southern boy was dating was when him came in my office horribly frustrated and asked:

What are 300 count percale sheets?
Wow. What�s here name?

In a typical Southern male reaction, he defended her honor with It�s not like *that* and blushed rampantly.
Sure. What�s her name?
We were on a date in the mall and I needed new bedding and she was helping me pick it out and I felt like an *idiot* cause I had no idea what she was talking about.
Sure. What�s her name?

This stuff always happens around him. My first spacecraft emergency � grab-you-shoes-and-drop-everything-to-get-to-the-control-center-emergency � was the day of their wedding. Our team ran from the control center and slid in the last pew minutes ahead of the bride.

I like Dave, even if I fight with him like an older sibling.


I spent Sunday being �sanding monkey� to the knowledgable Alan, Roland, Thjora crew�s benchmaking.

Me: So do you need shop monkeys?
Alan: Well, if you had a monkey that was confident of his chiseling skills.
Me: Ah. You want the Roland monkey. But, I have mad sanding monkey skills.

(Is is an official monkey name if you dubbed yourself?)

Benches are close to finished. Tables close to finished. I ruined the face of one of my nails, hitting the sander the wrong way, but it�s okay. I�ve never had a manicure in my life, so no loss.


University was wet. (I think that�s redundant. It�s pretty much a given this year that all things are wet.) Corbie roped Anastasia and I into being the panel for a Courtesy vs Chivalry round table. Great discussion. Intimidating to be on a panel (Can we be a duo? We feel more like a duo than a panel.) with a professor of Medieval History, about to start at the University of Illinois.

We spent a long hour afterwards, sitting on the steps talking about the origins of knighthood. She specializes in early medieval history, which is certainly not information commonly available.

I think the next time I teach history of tournaments, I�ll switch from organizing it chronologically to teaching from a literature point of view. Then, I�d like to teach from an armor/weapon technology angle�

� oh, were you still listening? Sorry, got all sidetracked.

Juliet Barker�s newest The Tournament in England, 1100-1400 arrived yesterday, so I have that distraction rather than baking cupcakes tonight. England licensed and politicized tournaments. And you can�t blame them � how do you think the barons got together to plan the Magna Carta twist? They had a tournament.

I�m sure you�ll get subjected to an eventual review.

But, if I�m going to escape to do other things tonight, I�ve got to work now.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!