powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-04-07 - 10:47 a.m.

Trading Seasons

Spent the weekend mostly being a girl. Even bought sandals, which explains why it�s sleeting today.

Needed new spring clothes. Cleaned my closet. Shifted winter stuff to the back. Rediscovered lots of lovely clothes that were too small. Became depressed at how plump I am. Cheered up by deciding it was actually a blessing - that the only thing wrong with me could be fixed with hard work.

Completed lots of errands. Slept deeply after the last few weeks of madness.

Resolved that I need more light in the closet and more organized shoe storage.

Read a chunk of Mark Twain essays. I had forgotten what a sarcastic SOB he is, bless �em.

Lost the office pool on �how many pages will the review package be� by a country mile. My guess was 432.

The answer? 933. Nine hundred and thirty three pages of material to get through in two and a half days. Plus the bookshelf of reference materials (white papers, trade studies, documentation).

Inevitable conclusion is I�ll be working late this week, so I slept late today guilt free.

I cannot believe it is sleeting in April.


Speaking of being a girl, this one�s for you AoD:

The new issue of Cooking Light (well, the one I finally got a chance to read this weekend) includes an article on vintage aprons and (you guessed it), you can buy them online. Vintage-apron.com. Well-researched recreations of early 20th century aprons.

I especially like the �Margaret� apron. She�s all heart.

[Free warning for all you guys. Don�t buy this for women. Trust me. If you want one for yourself, go right ahead, but let them buy aprons for themselves.]


Other CLtidbits include a crossover from that other bit of American Popculture, Trading Spaces. Just a one page article with design advice, including:

If a makeover candidate has only $100 to spend, what do you suggest he or she do to make the most impact in the kitchen?

Genevieve: Paint your cabinetry, and get light in there.

Doug: Paint! Walls, blank canvases -- or both.

Frank: Spend the money on a bottle of wine and some really good food. Anything looks better after a good meal.

This is why Frank, though he will never be allowed to decorate my home, can show up at my parties anytime.

Parties. I should throw one. Hmmm.


I am sorry to have missed Coronation, but I choose well for me.

Get this. I walked down the steps Saturday morning and stopped halfway down in shock.

Nothing hurt. Right ankle�s inflamed tendon was fine. Left ankle scar tissue wasn�t complaining. My knees weren�t strained from the orthodics torquing them outward.

It didn�t last, but the surcease was a tantalizing hope motivating me repair my bike seat.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!