powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-03-06 - 9:59 p.m.

Busy, but

When someone begins with �I know you�re busy, but ��, yet they still stand in your office talking and talking, they don�t understand what they just said.

They really don�t.

It�s crunch time at work, preparation for our first major review, where our design concept are judged by independent experts. If we pass, we�re a viable mission. And we get the rest of our funding. (Money, money, money.)

A normal part of my professional life. Engineer 6 to 10 months, face another major review. Except, we spent 8 months working very, very hard to convince the powers that be to allow us to major change in mission design.

And we won.

Even if the win means I don�t get to go fishing in Oregon � Go us!

But.
We won 6 weeks before a major review. We threw the entire deck of cards back up in the air, and things are still scattered.

Now, my team has to present results that show 8 months maturity, and we have 6 weeks to rework everything.

If you�ve done six impossible things before breakfast, top of the morning with a stop at the Restaurant at the End of the Universe. - Douglas Adams

Lunch? I�ve finally gave up and stocked the office with frozen dinners. Had my first decent lunch in weeks and weeks today. Said, the hell with it and went for Greek food and comics.

Crunch time reactions are always interesting.

I have two higher priority trades you�ve directed me to do, I say to my senior engineer and I�m not pulling my team off those to re-estimate the jitter budget.

You all complain you hate it when I make design decisions by fiat. So, I�m giving you the opportunity to have a say. Otherwise, I�ll just pick something, and you�ll all hate it.

I have junior engineers who are flipping out because homework problems don�t change parameters every two days. I have senior engineers that I have to talk off the tower, because they refuse to present a design that they haven�t had 6 months to analyze. Fortunately, most of my team is solid, game and ready to rock.

We will find a way, or we will make one.-General Hannibal


I bought the board game �Clue� two weeks ago.

Instead of little colored pegs, this updated version has character pieces.

Miss Scarlett, the a curvaceous brunette in a Jessica Rabbit dress. Professor Plum, a haughty, intelluctual dandy. Mrs. Peacock, a sassy older redhead. Mrs. White, a dour old maid. Colonel Mustard, a sketch of the retired British army.

I want to move the little pieces about the board, though I�m rethinking my usual selection of the green, since Mr. Green is now a rather dubious looking evangelist.

Unfortunately, it requires at least three players, where we are only two.

Pout.


In other news.

We cleaned the basement, which started, as all things do, as a small ambition.

Most of last weekend later, we dumped a truck load of trash and a pile of boxes for the Salvation Army.

And, bonus, found a misplaced bottle of 15 year old Port Ellen whiskey, which Alan and I dented last Saturday night.

We need to have a whisky tasting.

I need to call my mom.

I need to pay bills.

I need to drive the Clue bus over several of my colleagues.

I need sleep.

I (yawn) am going to bed.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!