powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-02-01 - 11:02 a.m.

There�s a grief that can�t be spoken

I don�t think I can explain how this hurts.

There�s a grief that can�t be spoken

There�s a different, deeper grief among NASA personnel, and I just don�t think I can explain it to those outside the space industry, a community who daily challenges the stars.

There�s a pain that goes on and on

Thank you, Q, and most especially Alan.

Empty chairs at empty tables

It was a bad day. Monday at work will be worse.

Now my friends are dead and gone

And I�m really tired of listening to the reporters ask crazy physics questions. I can tell I'm going to get pissed at the reporters before we find the truth.


January 27, 1967. Apollo 1.
Gus Grissom. Ed White. Roger Chaffee.

January 28, 1986. Challenger.
Michael Smith. Dick Scobee. Judith Resnik. Ronald McNair. Ellison Onizuka. Gregory Jarvis. Christa McAuliffe.

February 1, 2003. Columbia.
Rick Husband. William McCool. Kalpana Chawla. Laurel Clark. David Brown. Michael Anderson. Ilan Ramon.

Seventeen. Seventeen astronauts lost in thirty nine years of spaceflight. It is amazing we�ve lost so few. It�s amazing this incredibly complex endeavor ever succeeds.

Nope. Logic is not working for me right now.


High Flight

Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of Earth
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings;
Sunward I've climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth
Of sun-split clouds, � and done a hundred things
You have not dreamed of � wheeled and soared and swung
High in the sunlit silence. Hov'ring there,
I've chased the shouting wind along, and flung
My eager craft through footless halls of air. . . .

Up, up the long, delirious burning blue
I've topped the wind-swept heights with easy grace
Where never lark, or ever eagle flew �
And, while with silent, lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space,
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God.

John Gillespie Magee, Jr. Quoted by President Ronald Reagan in the eulogy for the Challenger crew.

I�d still accept a slot in the astronaut corps tomorrow.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!