powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2002-01-22 - 12:41 p.m.

We didn't start the fire�

Friday night at a rock concert.

First, Elton John was fantastic. But Billy Joel, man. Billy Joel. Yes, he looks old, but he can still blow the roof off a stadium. Wow! The seats were behind the stage, which normally sucks, except (a) piano players sit in profile so it's actually great and (b) we were high enough to see the stage well. I love Billy Joel.

Now, the people in our section were definitely a distraction and entertainment all their own.

Behind us we had the Spoiled Brats, male and female pairings. First up, the Stefford twins - two overly saloned woman who talked through the entire concert - one with a nasal yet shrill voice. Rock concerts are not quiet, but, man - shut up I'm trying to hear! Then, the Two Drunk Men - they were not there for Elton and had about six beers before the concert started. Several rows in front and to the right of us we had - the Abba Twins who stood up and danced for all of Billy Joel's set. The problem was they blocked the Stefford twins' view. Meanwhile, the Two Drunk Men found their own irritant to our left in the Too Sexy for Our Seats couple who stood the entire concert (even when the rest of the people weren't) and lap danced with each other in the tiny space in front of their seats. To my immeadiate left we had the Excited Twenty-somethings Chicks (squealers, but really nice) and their Too Cool to Be Excited boyfriends.

Now I think if you're blocking other people view's for more than two minutes, you should go stand/dance in the aisles.

But since all these people were to either side, my view remained fairly unobstructed except for Mushroom Girl, a lady with an unfortunately shaped haircut who stood up. And just stood there. Perfectly still. Even during the roof raising "We Didn't Start the Fire" number.

Rob and I just rolled our eyes and did our best to ignore the madness about us. Rhi would've gone over our seats at the Spoiled Brats behind us. These people were allowed to could sing, talk, and disturb others at the top of their lungs, but heaven forfend their nemeses, the Abba Twins and the Too Sexy couple stood up and inconvienced them for even a second.

That's when the throwing started - caps, lids, anything they could hit the Too Sexy couple with they did. Luckily, Excited Twentysomething Chick #1 stopped the beer bottles cause I was prepared to climb in Rob's lap to avoid the fallout. By the end of the concert, the Two Drunk Guys were gathering male support to beat up the guy part of the Too Sexy couple. (Hey I say kick the girl's ass too cause she was worse about not sitting down.) During egress, Rob and I dodged the other direction, cause I needed sleep more than I needed to be a material witness to a beating.

Still, the nutballs were only a minor distraction/part of the rock concert ambience. Billy Joel/Elton John 'Face to Face' on tour. Get tickets if you can. Two fantastic piano men really rocked the house.


Saturday, the whim moved me to make pizza. So I mixed up the dough and ran the cheese through the food processor. Packed up the pizza stone and sewing goodies and we were off to Kyna's to play with Padraiga and Cuan.

I spent the weekend being precisely as useful as the spirit moved me. Helping others is so much nicer than having your own deadlines. Kymber and Padraiga worked on surcoats (15th century-ish German based - the fighting surcoats with the slashed dagged sleeves.) I drafted up more embroidery patterns and played with the machine. We made Padraiga's ermine spots. We even made a Cuan puppy pattern. Despite Kymber's concerns about the sewing machine's 'Ego overflow' error (grin), it sewed beautifully.

Designing animal patterns always makes me giggle. Should I delete the masculine parts or change the pattern to make them really stand out? And how long to make the teeth? Anyway, Peppy the Puppy came out quite nifty.

Violante made a Boxston tunic, all warm and wooly for Ymir. Mikhail was just generally helpful - He considers a serger a fun new power tool. Roland pounded sand and did a lot of casting. Cuan and Rags shaped kydex pieces to Mikhail. I eventually made them take the kydex out of the oven so I could make pizza.

You see, for Christmas I gave Ragnarr 'Theo pizza' coupons. Mikhail thought it was strange, but Rags kept saying 'You must have the pizza to understand the value.' I do make kick ass pizza. Of course, Rags is left with the moral dilemma - is the pizza glut of Saturday = 1 redeemed coupon? Or, maybe it doesn't cost him a coupon cause everyone else got pizza too.

Other things I learned this weekend:

*Cuan's team, the Raiders were robbed of victory in the playoffs thanks to some terrible referee calls. (A whole lot of swearing going on Saturday during the game.) The Sunday Steelers game went much better for Mel and Rags - their boys won.

*Kymber's cat can hear the sound of fabric being laid out two floors away and will rush to lie down in the middle of the piece.

*The 'Terrible Towel' is a Steelers fan thing and you whirl it over your head to cheer - it's not actually for wiping anything. Mel explained this and other sports trivia to the non-sports enabled Theo. (Hey, I know other useful stuff like why you stand up during Handel's Messiah.)

*Don't try to make Cuan stand still to be measured during a football game. Wait for the commercial.

*Kymber had never heard of the 'Naked News' website (CNN filler story on Sunday morning) and found the entire thing very, very disturbing.

*If you've never watched kydex being shaped to a guy before, well, it looks like something very strange and different when you walk in on it.

Late Sunday evening, we finally bestirred ourselves to toddle home. We dropped off two ice cream makers at Kevin's (ask him about the crackhead gelato project) and chatted with him and Jake for about an hour, before going home to comfort our neglected cat.


But there's still the Monday holiday. Alan talked us into a second LOTR's screening, definitely worth a second viewing on the big screen. Then lunch at about 3 o'clock and a stop at that dangerous new bookstore Laura found (Daedalus Books), which sells lots of art books way below list price.

Alan went home for more relaxation while Gen kept me company in the sewing room. I worked on Mel's hood (Dolphin goes up, next dolphin goes nose down, dolphin up, dolphin down), while Gen showed me a lot of her wedding stuff. She's almost halfway - the next weeks will be a flurry of - "I've got leads on everything, I just need to decide" but then she'll be done.


Blissful, semi-useful weekend.

But, there was some bitterness. No, I don't care about the football games. Let's talk about something important.

After reminding myself for weeks about the Saturday night B5 movie, I FORGOT TO TAPE IT. And missed the replays. Dammit. Fortunately, Jim has a tape so all will be well. No one talk to me about it yet.

Also on the bitter side - pitiful snow storm. I have SNOW NEEDS!I want a seriously deep, snow ball making, stay home from work, sledding snow.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!